SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Github Development

Notices

SageTV Github Development Discussion related to SageTV Open Source Development. Use this forum for development topics about the Open Source versions of SageTV, hosted on Github.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-29-2017, 06:21 PM
shatter shatter is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 75
SOLVED: Mumble / Murmur Upgrade Kills SageTV (JVM.DLL missing)

Hi,

I have been running a Mumble server (Murmur) for a few years now on my SageTV box under v7 and now under the open source version. The Murmur server version is 1.2.8. Java is the latest version 8.121 and I am running Windows 10.

My problem is that if I perform an update to the mumble server software, it kills SageTV. The service control software and SageTV UI fail to load with a JVM.DLL missing error, please install JRE 1.4.2 dialog box with a button that closes it.

I have tried reinstalling SageTV, reinstalling Java and reinstalling the mumble server and the error continues to persist. I do daily images of my C drive so I just reload the latest image to beforehand and everything is back to normal. Eventually, I know I am going to need to update the server software for some kind of critical security bug and would like to understand how to fix this problem.

Anyone run across this issue before and know the fix?

Thanks,
Chad
__________________
Hardware: Intel i5-2500, ASUS P8H67-M EVO, 12GB DDR3 RAM, Hauppauge HD-PVR, Intel PCIe NIC, BD-ROM drive, wireless keyboard/mouse combo, HD-200, HD-300
Software: Win 10 Pro 64-bit, SageTV 9.0.9.441

Last edited by shatter; 02-09-2017 at 08:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-30-2017, 01:50 PM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,300
This post from me explains how it finds the JVM to run...so you should be able to find the registry settings and see what's causing the issue.

https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/sho...64&postcount=6
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-02-2017, 11:17 PM
shatter shatter is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 75
Thank you so much! I'll follow your instructions this weekend and update my OP.
__________________
Hardware: Intel i5-2500, ASUS P8H67-M EVO, 12GB DDR3 RAM, Hauppauge HD-PVR, Intel PCIe NIC, BD-ROM drive, wireless keyboard/mouse combo, HD-200, HD-300
Software: Win 10 Pro 64-bit, SageTV 9.0.9.441
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-03-2017, 02:31 PM
shatter shatter is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 75
Hi,

I read through the other thread and this is what I have done.

1. Made sure to uninstall both 32-bit and 64-bit versions of Java 8
2. Made sure no jre directory existed in the SageTV folder structure (and no jvm.dll to be safe)
3. Installed 32-bit Java 8

SageTV gives the same can't find jvm.dll error message saying to install JRE 1.4.

What I noticed when looking at regedit on windows 10 64-bit is that HKLM\Software\JavaSoft keys only exist if you install the 64-bit version of Java. When you install the 32-bit version, there are no JavaSoft entries.

I do find the 32-bit entries at the following location though I am not sure how to make SageTV look there instead...

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\WOW6432Node\JavaSoft

UPDATE:

I was looking at the ServiceControlLaunch.cpp source code and it appears the registry key path is hard coded to look at the location for the 64-bit registry key. Obviously, I don't really know what I am doing here.. just guessing at things...

if (RegOpenKeyEx(rootKey, "Software\\JavaSoft\\Java Runtime Environment", 0, KEY_QUERY_VALUE, &myKey) != ERROR_SUCCESS)

https://github.com/google/sagetv/blo...trolLaunch.cpp
__________________
Hardware: Intel i5-2500, ASUS P8H67-M EVO, 12GB DDR3 RAM, Hauppauge HD-PVR, Intel PCIe NIC, BD-ROM drive, wireless keyboard/mouse combo, HD-200, HD-300
Software: Win 10 Pro 64-bit, SageTV 9.0.9.441

Last edited by shatter; 02-03-2017 at 02:56 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-03-2017, 04:22 PM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,473
If the executable is running as 32-bit usually the "64-bit" path gets converted automatically by the OS to the 32-bit part of the registry.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 8x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.3.0-rc6 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-04-2017, 12:20 PM
shatter shatter is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 75
I have tried every variation I can think of and I am stumped. What I did find is that simply uninstalling the Mumble server will cause the JVM.DLL not found error.

I put the 32-bit Java 8 files into the SageTV install directory under the directory name jre and SageTV still produces the same error. I am unclear as whether this is a Mumble bad behavior problem, a SageTV bad behavior problem or something fundamentally wrong with the OS setup.

Additional things I tried was to uninstall all Java, uninstall SageTV, uninstall Mumble server and then reinstall Java and reinstall SageTV while leaving Mumble server off the system and the same error. I am trying to follow troubleshooting best practices here to no avail and I'd rather not resort to a full C Drive wipe and reinstall and find out it isn't a problem with my OS at a fundamental level.

Anyways, all thoughts on the matter are appreciated!

Thanks,
Chad
__________________
Hardware: Intel i5-2500, ASUS P8H67-M EVO, 12GB DDR3 RAM, Hauppauge HD-PVR, Intel PCIe NIC, BD-ROM drive, wireless keyboard/mouse combo, HD-200, HD-300
Software: Win 10 Pro 64-bit, SageTV 9.0.9.441
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-04-2017, 09:17 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 2,110
Perhaps post the registry settings for java so we can see why this is happening.

k
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-06-2017, 09:21 PM
shatter shatter is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 75
Hi.

I took a bunch of screenshots of my 64-bit and 32-bit java registry settings as well as two shots from the Java Control Panel of the Java Runtime Environment Settings. Under user it shows both the 32bit and 64bit versions but under System it only shows the 64bit. I uninstalled the 64bit version and the 32bit version then showed up in the System screen but SageTV doesn't like to run either way.

http://imgur.com/a/5faxX

Thanks,
Chad
__________________
Hardware: Intel i5-2500, ASUS P8H67-M EVO, 12GB DDR3 RAM, Hauppauge HD-PVR, Intel PCIe NIC, BD-ROM drive, wireless keyboard/mouse combo, HD-200, HD-300
Software: Win 10 Pro 64-bit, SageTV 9.0.9.441
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-07-2017, 03:53 PM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,300
At this point I really have no idea why this is happening, everything looks correct.
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-09-2017, 08:44 PM
shatter shatter is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 75
Hi,

I posted over on the Mumble forums and they had the fix. When Mumble was uninstalled, Windows removed the copy of msvcr100.dll sitting in the C:\Windows\SysWOW64 directory and then SageTV would then fail to load Java because the required DLL was missing.

I copied over msvcr100.dll from the 32-bit Java directory and put it in C:\Windows\SysWOW64 directory and now everything is good!

Yeah!
__________________
Hardware: Intel i5-2500, ASUS P8H67-M EVO, 12GB DDR3 RAM, Hauppauge HD-PVR, Intel PCIe NIC, BD-ROM drive, wireless keyboard/mouse combo, HD-200, HD-300
Software: Win 10 Pro 64-bit, SageTV 9.0.9.441
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-06-2017, 07:04 PM
rxnelson rxnelson is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 121
Anyone have a similar fix without Mumble/Murmur installed? I think the electric went out today so the HD300s were acting funny. I went ahead and rebooted the server and the service will start and I can watch on the HD300s but on the main computer I load sagetv and it says it can't load the JVM and to reinstall 1.4 I didn't do anything but reboot the machine. I'm not sure what happened unless a windows update messed something up and the reboot finished it off. Anyway, I feel like I'm in a similar situation as I remember many years ago copying a dll and Sage was working again. Any suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-07-2017, 02:02 PM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,300
Have you tried re-installing Java yet?
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-14-2017, 07:44 PM
rxnelson rxnelson is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by Narflex View Post
Have you tried re-installing Java yet?
Sorry, to take a bit to get back. I actually realized I posted this in the incorrect forum. I'm on version 7 but the same issue. I definitely reinstalled Java. It did not help. I ended up repairing one of the Visual C++ packs and that seemed to fix it. Thanks for chiming in.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My projector kills my SageTV client on HTPC? Brent94Z Hardware Support 6 05-22-2011 01:24 PM
sageTV service in autostart mode kills my WinXP crusader SageTV Software 7 01-28-2010 07:01 AM
HD-100 kills HD-PVR recording eopian Hardware Support 4 09-10-2009 03:51 AM
Sleeping SageTv kills irremote? jadawin SageTV Software 4 04-21-2005 03:27 PM
Long show kills live tv on all versions :( jimbobuk SageTV Software 4 06-07-2003 03:33 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.