SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > The SageTV Community
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

The SageTV Community Here's the place to discuss what's worth recording, HTPC deals at retail stores, events happening outside of your home theater, and pretty much anything else you'd like. (No For-Sale posts)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-01-2015, 10:27 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,240
s-vhs vcr's - recommendation?

anyone have a recommendation for a S-VHS machine that takes a lickin' and keep on tickin'?

I've had three JVC units go bad in the last five years, and parts are hard to find. add to that JVC refers all vcr repair to Atlanta.

I'm looking at used Mitubishi machines...any opinions? Panasonic is on the list as well. the only JVC I'd consider at this point would be their dual minidv / svhs unit.

looking to spend $100 max with shipping

and yes, I've heard very joke possible about still using any form of tape. I've got a few hundred hours of stuff to digitize, then it will be over
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson

Last edited by tvmaster2; 09-01-2015 at 10:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-02-2015, 01:16 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
At this point, you should be able to get some used studio grade pieces for cheap (I would think).
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-02-2015, 09:40 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
At this point, you should be able to get some used studio grade pieces for cheap (I would think).
I've thought of that, but we used to work ours very hard, which makes me think anything I find used will have lots of hours on the heads, so a solid, lightly used consumer machine may work better in the long run.
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-03-2015, 02:15 PM
MattHelm MattHelm is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,209
There is a very slim chance I have my old semi-pro S-VHS recorder down at my dad's. I can't get to it anytime soon (guessing late November). If he stills has it, I'll give it to you if you pay shipping. (sorry, don't have slightest idea make or model, but last time it was fixed, it was still worth $300+) You want?

It had very little time on it after the last repair. (bought a SageTV system soon after)
__________________
Server #1= AMD A10-5800, 8G RAM, F2A85-M PRO, 12TB, HDHomerun Prime, HDHR, Colossus (Playback - HD-200)
Server #2= AMD X2 3800+, 2G RAM, M2NPV-VM, 2TB, 3x HDHR OTA (Playback - HD-200)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-03-2015, 09:54 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by MattHelm View Post
There is a very slim chance I have my old semi-pro S-VHS recorder down at my dad's. I can't get to it anytime soon (guessing late November). If he stills has it, I'll give it to you if you pay shipping. (sorry, don't have slightest idea make or model, but last time it was fixed, it was still worth $300+) You want?

It had very little time on it after the last repair. (bought a SageTV system soon after)
thanks for the info. very generous. do you imagine it still works? shipping shouldn't be a problem - I've been looking on eBay and most shipping charges seem affordable, unless it's coming from Hawaii or Alaska.
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-04-2015, 03:37 PM
MattHelm MattHelm is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,209
If it wasn't tossed out, it should work. That first "If" is the big one.

Come to think of if it, if it was plugged in on the day of the "BIG LIGHTNING STRIKE", I'm sure it's dead. I think dad has a tape or 2 around, and I'd do a basic test before shipping.
__________________
Server #1= AMD A10-5800, 8G RAM, F2A85-M PRO, 12TB, HDHomerun Prime, HDHR, Colossus (Playback - HD-200)
Server #2= AMD X2 3800+, 2G RAM, M2NPV-VM, 2TB, 3x HDHR OTA (Playback - HD-200)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-04-2015, 03:40 PM
hugenbdd hugenbdd is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Cincinnati, KY
Posts: 81
What about a DVHS? Not to expensive on ebay.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/JVC-HM-DH300...item2a5763c878

They can play SVHS tapes also. I can't remember if they can output an SVHS on firewire or not. If they can it would make the digital conversion easy.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-04-2015, 09:35 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by hugenbdd View Post
What about a DVHS? Not to expensive on ebay.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/JVC-HM-DH300...item2a5763c878

They can play SVHS tapes also. I can't remember if they can output an SVHS on firewire or not. If they can it would make the digital conversion easy.
I have both a 30000 and a 40000, both have been repaired once, badly, by JVC's own service department, and both have failed again. I am fed up with them (and JVC quality quite honestly), and they are being readied for eBay "sold for parts" soon. They were both a real disappointment. When they worked, they were brilliant. Sadly, they were the two, worst VCR's I ever owned.
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson

Last edited by tvmaster2; 09-04-2015 at 09:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-04-2015, 10:00 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by MattHelm View Post
If it wasn't tossed out, it should work. That first "If" is the big one.

Come to think of if it, if it was plugged in on the day of the "BIG LIGHTNING STRIKE", I'm sure it's dead. I think dad has a tape or 2 around, and I'd do a basic test before shipping.
The Big Strike....classic. I'll stay tuned
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-06-2015, 03:14 PM
MattHelm MattHelm is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,209
Sorry, my brother cleaned out ALL VCRs out that last time he visited. Sorry for getting your hopes up. There's still a slim chance it was hidden in my old closet, but I don't think so. I'll still check when I run down.
__________________
Server #1= AMD A10-5800, 8G RAM, F2A85-M PRO, 12TB, HDHomerun Prime, HDHR, Colossus (Playback - HD-200)
Server #2= AMD X2 3800+, 2G RAM, M2NPV-VM, 2TB, 3x HDHR OTA (Playback - HD-200)
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-06-2015, 10:18 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by MattHelm View Post
Sorry, my brother cleaned out ALL VCRs out that last time he visited. Sorry for getting your hopes up. There's still a slim chance it was hidden in my old closet, but I don't think so. I'll still check when I run down.
hehe..no worries, eBay is rife with old units. thanks for the help.
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-28-2015, 12:04 PM
MattHelm MattHelm is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,209
Well, was down at my dad's this weekend, and there was my good VCR, setting in a box. Of course, I then left it there, and dad's not really up to taking it to town for shipment. I'll be back down there for thanksgiving, still want it?
__________________
Server #1= AMD A10-5800, 8G RAM, F2A85-M PRO, 12TB, HDHomerun Prime, HDHR, Colossus (Playback - HD-200)
Server #2= AMD X2 3800+, 2G RAM, M2NPV-VM, 2TB, 3x HDHR OTA (Playback - HD-200)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-28-2015, 09:35 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by MattHelm View Post
Well, was down at my dad's this weekend, and there was my good VCR, setting in a box. Of course, I then left it there, and dad's not really up to taking it to town for shipment. I'll be back down there for thanksgiving, still want it?
lol, that's pretty funny. old s-vhs never die
did you happen to jot down the make/model? what state would it be shipped from? I got lucky at Goodwill last week for $5.99, but for the right machine, redundancy never hurts. thanks for remembering
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-30-2015, 02:01 PM
MattHelm MattHelm is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,209
Sent you a private message.
__________________
Server #1= AMD A10-5800, 8G RAM, F2A85-M PRO, 12TB, HDHomerun Prime, HDHR, Colossus (Playback - HD-200)
Server #2= AMD X2 3800+, 2G RAM, M2NPV-VM, 2TB, 3x HDHR OTA (Playback - HD-200)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD PVR recommendation valnar Hardware Support 10 03-14-2013 07:50 PM
Amp Recommendation malbec Hardware Support 1 07-23-2008 12:09 AM
WHS Recommendation gblinckmann Hardware Support 2 11-22-2007 03:34 PM
Need OTA HD tuner recommendation valnar Hardware Support 8 12-29-2006 01:09 PM
RF Modulator recommendation please stevech Hardware Support 2 11-26-2006 09:42 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.