SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Github Development
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Github Development Discussion related to SageTV Open Source Development. Use this forum for development topics about the Open Source versions of SageTV, hosted on Github.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 10-09-2015, 12:37 PM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,349
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
SO... If I create a new build, it would likely be 9.0.1.0. Should I commit the build number update back into your sources? (ie pull request to github).

EDIT: So, SageContstants has the build number, why isn't that in the Version.java long with the other build version parts?
I already have changed it to 9.0.1. But feel free to update the micro version anytime you want if you feel you've made a substantial enough change.

Ideally; the build version gets updated every single time a new version is created (for GitHub; every commit would be good). We had it in a separate file before because our scripts would then just update that one file with that value when it was creating a new installer.

If anybody knows how to make the build number increment on every commit; let me know. Or if there's some other way to pull a nice incrementing value to use in place of that; it'd be good too.
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 10-09-2015, 02:19 PM
Nelbert Nelbert is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 163
Quote:
Originally Posted by Narflex View Post
I already have changed it to 9.0.1. But feel free to update the micro version anytime you want if you feel you've made a substantial enough change.

Ideally; the build version gets updated every single time a new version is created (for GitHub; every commit would be good). We had it in a separate file before because our scripts would then just update that one file with that value when it was creating a new installer.

If anybody knows how to make the build number increment on every commit; let me know. Or if there's some other way to pull a nice incrementing value to use in place of that; it'd be good too.
Usually I would inject the build number as the continuous integration build job number from Jenkins or Travis. To use the short version of the sha code that github displays as latest commit number when viewed through a browser:
Code:
git rev-parse --short=10 HEAD

~/Projects/sagetv$ git rev-parse --short=10 HEAD
4ac1c547b6
To produce a longer version identifier then something like this:
Code:
git describe --always --long --dirty --abbrev=10 --tags
would generate as either:
<latest-tag>-<commits-since-tag>-g<short sha id>
or
<short sha id>
depending whether the repo is tagged or not

Code:
~/Projects/sagetv$ git describe --always --long --dirty --abbrev=10 --tags
a7a497fc91
~/Projects/sagetv$ git tag -a v9.0.1.0 -m "with tag version 9.0.1.0"
~/Projects/sagetv$ git tag
v9.0.1.0
~/Projects/sagetv$ git describe --always --long --dirty --abbrev=10 --tags
v9.0.1.0-0-ga7a497fc91
~/Projects/sagetv$ git checkout master
Switched to branch 'master'
~/Projects/sagetv$ git describe --always --long --dirty --abbrev=10 --tags
v9.0.1.0-4-g4ac1c547b6
The details are here https://git-scm.com/docs/git-describe but basically:
--always forces using just the short commit id if no tags exist
--long forces the long version even if the repo is currently at the tagged commit
--dirty add commits since the tag
--abbrev=10 shortens the full commit id sha to the first 10 chars which is the default display in github

The above commands could either export the value to an env variable or output it to a file as part of the build script and then imported in from the env var or file during the build.

At work we would use the 10 digit sha and our continuous build server job number together in the filename when building a deb or rpm package for nightly/snapshot/dev releases where it wasn't appropriate to tag the codebase before building. It made it very simple to trace back in Jenkins and Git from a package name.

I have a travis config which sets up a travis-ci.org build robot and then replicates the buildall.sh on every git checkin. I'm still sorting out the automatic upload to binfiles (it is currently failing at that stage) and was then going to look the best way to inject the git tag/version number in the pipeline so it automatically updated the version. I've not had much time this week so it stalled.

Last edited by Nelbert; 10-09-2015 at 02:48 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 10-09-2015, 03:14 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,491
Quote:
Originally Posted by jusjoken View Post
So if we build it under 64 bit Linux do we get more memory to connect more extenders....ie: get past the 1024 limit in the 32 bit version or is there more to do to resolve that?
Any progress on this - and how best to do it? If I remember correctly there were at least two options (1) Run each client/miniclient in a separate JVM, or (2) use 64 bit Java and allow a much larger heap size.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 10-09-2015, 04:44 PM
Monedeath Monedeath is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Idaho
Posts: 514
Try posts 11 thru 15 in this thread... Before it was derailed a second time.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vagrant files of 32bit and 64bit images that can be used for SageTV Linux Development stuckless SageTV Github Development 0 08-16-2015 01:43 PM
is there a plugin to read .my files yet? pjwerdna SageTV v7 Customizations 10 06-27-2010 10:10 PM
SageTV can't read its own files transco SageTV Software 4 07-26-2009 05:02 PM
read-write xml files perry59 SageTV Studio 3 11-12-2007 06:53 PM
Imported Video Files -- 0 minutes duration dragon SageTV Software 4 06-22-2004 07:23 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.