SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Clients Development
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Clients Development This forum is for discussions relating to SageTV Open Source Clients Development.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41  
Old 03-20-2016, 07:47 AM
Bucsfan2008 Bucsfan2008 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnterNoEscape View Post
I agree. I'm amazed that anyone puts themselves through this hassle for free apps, but I really am grateful that you choose to be a masochist.

I probably should mention that RC2 was the last version that would successfully run on the Fire TV stick. The Fire TV devices are running Fire OS which I don't believe has any Android TV compatibility. Starting with RC3 I have been able to install, but not been able to run the miniclient most likely due to the Android TV requirement. I probably should have said something, but I presumed it was expected behavior.
I am currently running both RC5 on the regular Fire TV very successfully however it does not show up to be managed in apps, it does show up in "My apps" though.
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 03-20-2016, 08:57 AM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,657
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bucsfan2008 View Post
I am currently running both RC5 on the regular Fire TV very successfully however it does not show up to be managed in apps, it does show up in "My apps" though.
I can access the app, but when I try to launch it, it just fails. I removed RC2 before installing RC5. I just tried it again to make sure nothing changed. It still will only install. Also the Open option after it installs is grayed out. When I go to launch it from the apps on the home screen, I just get a blank screen for a few seconds and then I'm returned to the apps. I'm guessing this is a FireTV stick specific issue. I have a normal FireTV that I haven't plugged in yet. I'll try that out and report back.

Update: Amazon says the regular FireTV is also incompatible. The FireTV is working even worse with RC5. It refuses to install the package entirely say that "There was a problem parsing the package." I did enable the developer options to install software outside of the app store. I also re-downloaded the package just in case. I can't think of anything else that should be done. Am I missing an important detail?

Update 2: The latest version I can install is RC2 and the icons are corrupt. Is this because I have a Gen. 1? On the plus side, 60fps video is working a lot better and not falling behind like it did on the Fire TV stick and the video looks a lot better than the Nexus Players hardware MPEG-2 decoding.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG

Last edited by EnterNoEscape; 03-20-2016 at 10:15 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 03-20-2016, 09:06 AM
jm9843 jm9843 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 288
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
..then Google sent me a suspension letter because my project is "impersonating" something...
I was actually surprised that the TV app was approved because of the copyrighted images in Play Store listing (Hawaii Five-O background, banner). I think that Google lumps copyrighted images into the 'IP infringement and impersonation policy' category. It's why apps like Emby and Kodi only have images in their listing of stuff released under a creative commons license (e.g. Big Buck Bunny, Elephants Dream, etc.).

Besides the inconvenience of creating screenshots that are less-representative of the product (albeit clearer that they don't furnish copyrighted content); Google doesn't seem to apply the rule consistently. Which I think can be attributed to the manual, human driven app approval process that they switched to in March of last year.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 03-20-2016, 01:32 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,713
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnterNoEscape View Post
I can access the app, but when I try to launch it, it just fails. I removed RC2 before installing RC5. I just tried it again to make sure nothing changed. It still will only install. Also the Open option after it installs is grayed out. When I go to launch it from the apps on the home screen, I just get a blank screen for a few seconds and then I'm returned to the apps. I'm guessing this is a FireTV stick specific issue. I have a normal FireTV that I haven't plugged in yet. I'll try that out and report back.

Update: Amazon says the regular FireTV is also incompatible. The FireTV is working even worse with RC5. It refuses to install the package entirely say that "There was a problem parsing the package." I did enable the developer options to install software outside of the app store. I also re-downloaded the package just in case. I can't think of anything else that should be done. Am I missing an important detail?

Update 2: The latest version I can install is RC2 and the icons are corrupt. Is this because I have a Gen. 1? On the plus side, 60fps video is working a lot better and not falling behind like it did on the Fire TV stick and the video looks a lot better than the Nexus Players hardware MPEG-2 decoding.
When I browse the listing on Amazon, it says it's incompatible with my FireTV as well... yet I do I have RC5 installed on it (which was the same version, code wise, that was released to the app store). I'll have do some republishing a few times, like I did with Google's Play Store to get the "features" right for Amazon PITA

Quote:
Originally Posted by jm9843 View Post
I was actually surprised that the TV app was approved because of the copyrighted images in Play Store listing (Hawaii Five-O background, banner). I think that Google lumps copyrighted images into the 'IP infringement and impersonation policy' category. It's why apps like Emby and Kodi only have images in their listing of stuff released under a creative commons license (e.g. Big Buck Bunny, Elephants Dream, etc.).

Besides the inconvenience of creating screenshots that are less-representative of the product (albeit clearer that they don't furnish copyrighted content); Google doesn't seem to apply the rule consistently. Which I think can be attributed to the manual, human driven app approval process that they switched to in March of last year.
Again, you could be 100% right... we just don't know... and from what I read, no amount of "please tell me what I did wrong" will fix it... you just have recreate the entire publication again, and then resubmit. When google "suspends" a project, you can't go back in and just edit it... You have to start at ground zero and redo everything

On a different note... this was my 13th app that I setup on the play store... if I was superstitious...
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 03-20-2016, 03:44 PM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,657
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
When I browse the listing on Amazon, it says it's incompatible with my FireTV as well... yet I do I have RC5 installed on it (which was the same version, code wise, that was released to the app store). I'll have do some republishing a few times, like I did with Google's Play Store to get the "features" right for Amazon PITA
I found that I had an update pending which fixed the icons in RC2, but I still can't run RC5. In case it made any difference I sideloaded the app with adb (instead of installing it via ES File Explorer) and it still will not open.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 03-20-2016, 04:36 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,713
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnterNoEscape View Post
I found that I had an update pending which fixed the icons in RC2, but I still can't run RC5. In case it made any difference I sideloaded the app with adb (instead of installing it via ES File Explorer) and it still will not open.
I'm working on a version that has both the TV and Phone UIs in a single APK. The downside is that it raises the min Android Version to 4.4 for a phone/tablet, but I'm hoping this version will support more hardware in the play stores.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 03-21-2016, 09:14 PM
DarkWolf77 DarkWolf77 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
When I browse the listing on Amazon, it says it's incompatible with my FireTV as well... yet I do I have RC5 installed on it (which was the same version, code wise, that was released to the app store). I'll have do some republishing a few times, like I did with Google's Play Store to get the "features" right for Amazon PITA



Again, you could be 100% right... we just don't know... and from what I read, no amount of "please tell me what I did wrong" will fix it... you just have recreate the entire publication again, and then resubmit. When google "suspends" a project, you can't go back in and just edit it... You have to start at ground zero and redo everything

On a different note... this was my 13th app that I setup on the play store... if I was superstitious...
I suddenly remembered something I read awhile ago about the impersonating thing, actually. It comes down to naming your app in such a way that you make it obvious that you're don't belong to the company. Here's a link explaining it: http://www.xda-developers.com/google...akes-to-avoid/

Basically, you should name it something like Miniclient for SageTV instead of SageTV Miniclient. It's a bit ridiculous if you ask me, and obviously you're free to keep distributing via bin tray... I sure won't complain.
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 03-22-2016, 06:09 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,713
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkWolf77 View Post
I suddenly remembered something I read awhile ago about the impersonating thing, actually. It comes down to naming your app in such a way that you make it obvious that you're don't belong to the company. Here's a link explaining it: http://www.xda-developers.com/google...akes-to-avoid/

Basically, you should name it something like Miniclient for SageTV instead of SageTV Miniclient. It's a bit ridiculous if you ask me, and obviously you're free to keep distributing via bin tray... I sure won't complain.
It could be that.... Personally, I don't think that google is that "intelligent" in their banishments. And while it could be that, how hard it is to actually tell the person "why". Imagine getting pulled over by the police, and you ask "why" and in response you get "you violated the traffic act... here's booklet, you can read it and understand what you did wrong".

The reality here, is that right now, the entire project is suspended, and people have offered (thanks) about 4-5 different reason why that might be. So if I acted on each of those, I have to change the source code, rebuild, re-sign, and then re-create from scratch a brand new project, filling all the details, including artwork, icons, etc, etc, and then publish it, and then wait and see. If it got suspended again, then I'd need to repeat that process until finally something worked... and each time, I'm throwing away a good android namespace in the process, and wasting time that I could be doing something fun

Because I don't think that google is that intelligent when it comes to this, my best guess is that google's "search" found another project that looked pretty damn close to the one that I published... but it's not smart enough to know that the other project is actually mine as well (If only they some sort of AI they would use....)

But, as I said, I don't intend to challenge it or fight it, since as a hobby, this is now work... and I have enough real work to keep me busy, I don't need to take on more in my spare time.
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 03-22-2016, 07:06 PM
TechBill's Avatar
TechBill TechBill is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 827
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
It could be that.... Personally, I don't think that google is that "intelligent" in their banishments. And while it could be that, how hard it is to actually tell the person "why". Imagine getting pulled over by the police, and you ask "why" and in response you get "you violated the traffic act... here's booklet, you can read it and understand what you did wrong".

The reality here, is that right now, the entire project is suspended, and people have offered (thanks) about 4-5 different reason why that might be. So if I acted on each of those, I have to change the source code, rebuild, re-sign, and then re-create from scratch a brand new project, filling all the details, including artwork, icons, etc, etc, and then publish it, and then wait and see. If it got suspended again, then I'd need to repeat that process until finally something worked... and each time, I'm throwing away a good android namespace in the process, and wasting time that I could be doing something fun

Because I don't think that google is that intelligent when it comes to this, my best guess is that google's "search" found another project that looked pretty damn close to the one that I published... but it's not smart enough to know that the other project is actually mine as well (If only they some sort of AI they would use....)

But, as I said, I don't intend to challenge it or fight it, since as a hobby, this is now work... and I have enough real work to keep me busy, I don't need to take on more in my spare time.
If I was you, I would just message Jeff and see if he could contact someone at Google to see what's up with this for you.

Bill
__________________
HTPC System
GIGABYTE GA-MA69GM-S2H AM2 AMD 690G HDMI // AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz // G.SKILL 6GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR // Hauppauge Colossus HD-PVR // Hauppauge Colossus HD-PVR // Seagate ST3750640AS 750GB SATA-300 16MB // DVD R/W - SAMSUNG Black
Media Extenders
HD300
HTPC Software
Windows 7 Professional 64bits // SageTV 7.1.x // Java 1.7.x
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 03-22-2016, 09:03 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by TechBill View Post
If I was you, I would just message Jeff and see if he could contact someone at Google to see what's up with this for you.

Bill
that seems logical. Am hoping he quietly reads all this and is already on it...
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 03-23-2016, 05:03 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,713
Quote:
Originally Posted by TechBill View Post
If I was you, I would just message Jeff and see if he could contact someone at Google to see what's up with this for you.

Bill
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
that seems logical. Am hoping he quietly reads all this and is already on it...
Jeff has offered... In fact, this entire project would have never happened without the 100s of emails/responses that I have had with Jeff. I asked Jeff not to intervene... for a couple of reasons... 1. I don't think a developer should need an advocate inside the wall in order to figure this shit out... 2. I really don't want to play the game. I said it several times that doing this is fun for me... and when it's not fun, I don't have time for it.... Or it gets done when I have no other recourse. Jeff has better things to do inside of Google than deal with this.
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 03-23-2016, 10:14 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
Jeff has offered... In fact, this entire project would have never happened without the 100s of emails/responses that I have had with Jeff. I asked Jeff not to intervene... for a couple of reasons... 1. I don't think a developer should need an advocate inside the wall in order to figure this shit out... 2. I really don't want to play the game. I said it several times that doing this is fun for me... and when it's not fun, I don't have time for it.... Or it gets done when I have no other recourse. Jeff has better things to do inside of Google than deal with this.
sounds logical as well
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 03-23-2016, 11:04 AM
reggie14 reggie14 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,760
I've seen so many posts from other Android developers telling similar stories. I have to say, I've lost a lot of respect for Google over how they've handled the play store. It should be that hard to provide a more meaningful description of the alleged violation. I suspect it was the fanart- Mizuu was similarly temporarily suspended over what turned out to be TMDb fanart- but legitimate developers shouldn't be treated that way. I feel fairly confident that Mizuu was only able to get a clear description of the violation because it was a fairly popular app and the Android sites picked up his blog post when it was suspended.

But, at least you can sideload apps in Android. You can't do that on iOS and Apple has their own problems.

I certainly don't mind sideloading the app on my phone and tablets. Down the line, it might be nice if the app checked for updates itself. It's a bit more of a hassle to sideload apps on Android TV, though.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 03-23-2016, 12:14 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,713
Quote:
Originally Posted by reggie14 View Post
I certainly don't mind sideloading the app on my phone and tablets. Down the line, it might be nice if the app checked for updates itself. It's a bit more of a hassle to sideload apps on Android TV, though.
Ironically enough, the App is available to install for Android TV via the Play Store... It wasn't until I tried to publish a second project that I got the suspension for the second project, but the first project (ie, the one for Android TV) is still there, I'll send updates via that channel.
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 03-30-2016, 08:22 AM
dinki's Avatar
dinki dinki is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
I'm not sure if this is the right thread, but I tried installing Miniclient to my FireTV Stick from Amazon App Store and it shows incompatible. Does the Miniclient only work on the full FireTV?
__________________
Intel Core i5-2500, 16GB RAM, OMV Linux 4.17, 3 TB of Data
SageTV 9 Docker, Open DCT Docker
Silicondust HDHomeRun Duo + Quatro
Sage Mini Client on Amazon Fire Sticks and Android TVs
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 03-30-2016, 10:13 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,713
Quote:
Originally Posted by dinki View Post
I'm not sure if this is the right thread, but I tried installing Miniclient to my FireTV Stick from Amazon App Store and it shows incompatible. Does the Miniclient only work on the full FireTV?
You might be able to side load it... but, if it's not showing as compatible, then there is something that Amazon is not liking about the package, and as such, it won't let it be installed via the app store.
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 04-02-2016, 04:35 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,713
New Build for TV/TABLETS in Play Store / Amazon App Store and on Bintray

Uploaded a new build...

Bugs Fixed
- Upgrade IJKPlayer (now uses ffmpeg v3)
- Non Standard External Port Support
- Background music playback interrupt slideshow
- Resume in PULL mode (IJK at least) restarts at 0
- Added support for Tablets and TV in single APK
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 04-03-2016, 05:19 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,713
FireTV woes

So, I got an email from Amazon... I guess they tested my app on a FireTV and when they enter a random IP into the add server dialog it tell them them the server isn't valid, so they failed it. Yet they passed it for File Tablet. I sent them a link to the download section of this forum in case they want to setup a sagetv server... I'm not very hopeful

I miss the days when developers could just do crazy stuff like write software and share it, and not have to deal the bullshit of "guardians".

I'll let you know when/if Amazon decides to setup a SageTV server for testing my App.
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 04-03-2016, 07:40 AM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,657
I'm curious why this concerns them. Is this a kind of quality control? There are plenty of apps that require a proper corresponding server to function correctly. With this kind of testing, I wonder how they ever pass things like Crestron control apps.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 04-03-2016, 08:17 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,997
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
Uploaded a new build...

Bugs Fixed
- Upgrade IJKPlayer (now uses ffmpeg v3)
- Non Standard External Port Support
- Background music playback interrupt slideshow
- Resume in PULL mode (IJK at least) restarts at 0
- Added support for Tablets and TV in single APK
I guess this Miniclient is not recommended for livetv as it refuses to play most of my channels. What is the best setting to use for the Nexus Player? ... or is it a problem with ffmpeg v3? Maybe someone else that has Comcast and uses OPenDCT and is going through the H.264 conversion can try livetv on several channels.
Attached Files
File Type: txt sagetv-miniclient.txt (82.9 KB, 125 views)
__________________
Channels DVR UBUNTU Server 2 Primes 3 Connects TVE SageTV Docker with input from Channels DVR XMLTV and M3U VIA Opendct.

Last edited by nyplayer; 04-03-2016 at 08:33 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SageTV MiniClient for Android Indiegogo Campaign (Thanks) stuckless SageTV Clients Development 14 09-18-2022 07:15 AM
[Android MiniClient] Now in BETA stuckless SageTV Clients Development 487 07-03-2016 03:55 PM
[Android MiniClient] Need a better start screen stuckless SageTV Clients Development 16 01-29-2016 01:55 PM
[HELP] Android MiniClient Play Store artwork stuckless SageTV Clients Development 6 01-29-2016 09:34 AM
MPEG2 Support in Android MiniClient stuckless SageTV Clients Development 24 01-03-2016 10:09 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.