SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Old 04-08-2005, 01:21 PM
Sage Expert

Voice Controling Sage? The future today?

Imagine being in your home and able to answer all phones, turn on and off lights/appliances, use VoIP for free calls anywhere in the world, select and play music, sit in front and control any HTPC/TV from anywhere and totally hands-free using only your voice.

I want to try and get the above working . I've been using my headset to access VoIP services for a few months now (that stuff is awesome). I'm planning on turning my soon-to-be-assembled (or reassembled) Sage server into my VoIP server as well so I can receive calls via VoIP. That part I think I got figured out. Then I discovered: http://www.x10europe.com/ for 220v X10 devices and voice control for X10 has been in existence for awhile now and I think that works well. So with all that, it seems a short step to be able to voice control my HTPC functions on this box as well.

The thing is I have no idea how to put all that together. I mean, first I'm going to need good voice recognition software that can control any piece of software. Then I'm going to need to be able to cover my home in bluetooth so I can roam freely. Of course, then I am going to have to get all the software and hardware to work with each other. I figure Girder can be used, somehow, to make the last step doable though.

So my questions are:

1) Is this even possible?

2) Can anyone recommend a good voice recognition package that will be able to control most software (especially Girder, I guess)?