SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Studio
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Studio Discussion related to the SageTV Studio application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the Studio software application should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-07-2005, 02:24 PM
Ericvic Ericvic is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 48
IR Plug-in

I have searched but haven't found the answer. Is there anyway to create a new plug-in that Sage will use to send IR commands? If so is there any documentation? I currently use an Ocelot to send IR command to my AV equipment and I would like to get Sage to use that so that I don't have to get a USBIRTor any other IR device.

Also is there any documentation on the load_at_startup_runnable_classes property? Can you use any POJO as long as it implements runnable?

Thanks,
Eric

Last edited by Ericvic; 12-07-2005 at 02:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-07-2005, 05:27 PM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,349
The DLLs SageTV uses for IR tuning implement the IRTuner plugin interface from Sourceforge.net
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-07-2005, 05:44 PM
Ericvic Ericvic is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 48
Thanks for the reply. I'm taking a look at it now. Is there anyway to use Java for this and tie it directly into Sage instead of having to create a DLL?

Anything on my second question about load_at_startup_runnable_classes?

I just thought of another question. The IRTuner interface is for IR output. What does Sage use for IR input?

Thanks,
Eric

Last edited by Ericvic; 12-07-2005 at 05:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-07-2005, 06:35 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,188
You could, but you would have to make your own custom calls from the STV via Studio (vs the IR tuner interface which Sage uses from the core).

Here's the input interface:
http://www.sagetv.com/2_papers/SageTVInputPlugins.txt
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-12-2005, 06:41 PM
Ericvic Ericvic is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 48
If anyone has any info on the load_at_startup_runnable_classes property that would be great to get hold of.

Thanks,
Eric
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-12-2005, 07:15 PM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ericvic
If anyone has any info on the load_at_startup_runnable_classes property that would be great to get hold of.

Thanks,
Eric
The webserver plugin uses it

Quote:
Edit the file Sage.properties which you might find in this path: C:\Program Files\Frey Technologies\SageTV
add the value "net.sf.sageplugins.webserver.StartServer" to the properties line "load_at_startup_runnable_classes="
If anything already exists in this line, separate each item with a semicolon ';'
Note that this is case-sensitive and there must be no spaces at all in this line. eg:
load_at_startup_runnable_classes=net.sf.sageplugins.webserver.StartServer
Looks like it loads a java class that is runnable at startup.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-12-2005, 07:37 PM
Ericvic Ericvic is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 48
Gerry,

Thanks for the reply. I had found that much information, I was hoping for a bit more official documentation.

Eric
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-23-2008, 09:57 PM
Ericvic Ericvic is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 48
Sorry to dredge up such an old post but I have finally gotten back around to trying to create a tuner plug-in. I have created a skeleton DLL based on the sourceforge.net project and have put it in the SageTV\Common folder but it never gets loaded. Is there somewhere that I need to register the name of the DLL so it will get loaded and show as an option in Sage?

Thanks,
Eric
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-23-2008, 10:27 PM
Ericvic Ericvic is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 48
Never mind I was doing something stupid.

I was coping the DLL to my local SageTV\Common folder instead of the one on the server, DOH.

Eric
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-24-2008, 05:52 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,713
You could ask support for thier code on the Lirc Tuner Plugin. That's what I did, then I modified it to work for my situation. Their LIRC Tuner is for linux, which was fine for me, but it does show the interface of how they use a tuner plugin quite well.

Just some notes about external turner plugins...
* the dll/so go in the irtunerpluginsdir and will be picked by by sage automatically on startup
* the const char* DeviceName() method return the name that you will in your Tuner Plugin list

Even though you have found your answer regarding the load_at_startup_runnable_classes, here is a concise answer for those that read this thread later....

Your class must implement the Runnable interface and you must provide an implementation for the run() method. You can do this by creating a class and then extending java.lang.Thread, or create a class and implement java.lang.Runnable. Sage will "run" any classes that are defined by this property.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.