SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Old 12-21-2005, 12:13 PM
Sage User

Nvidia decoder help needed

I am new to the HTPC and DVR worlds and am using the trial of Sage. I am quite impressed with it but have one issue - I cannot get the Nvidia decoders to work.

I have checked the forums and none of the threads address my issue - at least that I have found...

I have an older Athlon 2000+, 512Mb, XP Pro, Nvidia 5200 128M card, Happauge 150.

Sage works like a charm with no problems using the Sage decoders or using Intervideo decoders already installed via WinDVD. I purchased the Nvidia drivers with the 150 card from PCAlchemy - the Nvidia DVD says it is for WinMCE. After installing I switched Sage to the NV decoders and get the playback error that says "problem rendering video portion..." I have tried all the various combinations of the settings under Detailed Settings Video/Audio and DVD.

I am guessing that either I am missing a checkbox in Sage somewhere or the MCE version of the Nvidia decoders won't work for XP Pro.

Any help would be appriciated!
Old 12-21-2005, 01:37 PM
Sage User

Update

I tried using the Nvidia decoders in Windows Media Player 10 following Nvidia's install directions. Couldn't get video to play either via file or DVD. So my Nvidia issue is an installation issue - not a Sage issue.

I installed the demo of TheaterTek since it uses the Nvidia decoder - now Sage and Media Player work fine with the Nvidia decoder.