SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Studio
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Studio Discussion related to the SageTV Studio application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the Studio software application should be posted here.

Old 04-08-2006, 06:34 PM
Sage Icon

Question Studio Capabilites

I'm planning to spend some time in the weekends learning Studio so hopefully I can create something to contribute to the community. I just started reading the 4.1 manual. I know a little bit about scripting and can sorta understand XML layout when viewing it, such SageTV.xml or menu.xml, but I have no coding experience. I got some questions:

1. What are the capabilities of Studio or just SageTV UI capabilities.

For example, using Windows Media Center's UI as a comparison, is Studio capable of duplicating that kind of interface. I know SageMC is good and is based on MCE, but it isn't MCE. One specific thing in MCE is the way the menu items roll through and the currently selected item is always in the middle. And how it animates things flying in and out. http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/m...MCE_102704.swf

Another example is the popular Tivo interface, is Studio capable of duplicating that? Particularly, how the background changes color everytime you go to a different screen.

2. What is Studio lacking in terms of tools that give you freedom to create? And overall, is Java part of the limitations?

- SageTV 7.1.9 Server. Win7 32bit in VMWare Fusion. HDHR (FiOS Coax). HDHR Prime 3 Tuners (FiOS Cable Card). Gemstone theme.
- SageTV HD300 - HDMI 1080p Samsung 75" LED.
Old 04-08-2006, 07:11 PM
SageTVaholic