SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Customizations
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss customizations for SageTV version 6 and earlier, or for the SageTV3 UI.

Old 05-12-2006, 06:40 PM
SageTVaholic

Requirements capture for Video Library

There comes a time when you've just got to take a step back and look at what you're doing. Well I've been doing that WRT IVL, and it's apparent that I've really got no plan and thus no way to succeed.

That's really pretty bad considering I'm a Systems Engineer and planning/defining requirements is part of my job

So, here I am to attempt to rectify the situation. I'm starting this thread as a place to put down some high level requirements for the Sage video library, so that I can have a more clear picture of what the video library should be, and keep track of what's going in. It's looking like it's a pretty ambitious list.

I'm going to put down my requirements, comments are welcome, "good" comments may be added as requirements as well. One potential positive side effect of this, is that such organization will make it more possible for others to "take a stab" at some functionality as well.

I just want to preface this all with it being in my spare time, and I don't know how much time I'll be willing or able to spend on it. Further, at this point, I do not know if all of this is possible/practical. So onto the requirements.
  • The Video Library shall provide enhanced metadata from source(s) external to SageTV (eg DVD Profiler). The following data will be provided:
    • Original title (including special characters)
    • Description
    • Runtime
    • Rating
    • Aspect Ratio
    • Cast with respective roles