SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Placeshifter
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Placeshifter Discussion related to the SageTV Placeshifter application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV Placeshifter software application should be posted here.

Old 05-15-2006, 03:20 AM
Sage User

Question Does Placeshifter support DivX/MP4 recordings?

I've been using SageTV for a couple of years now, recording to DivX format with my Plextor ConvertX unit. It has worked very well, except for a few inconveniences with how the final conversion to AVI happens.

I just upgraded server and client to 5.0.2.90, and thought I'd try out Placeshifter for when I'm on the road.

I tried playing some of my SageTV Recordings and get a black screen, no sound, no movement on the timer bar. I tried some of the remedies in other posts, with no success. I was able to get sound without video, I think it was from turning off the post-processing. Most recordings were made with the DivX home theater "Good" or "High" quality settings.

I changed recording quality to MPEG-4 "Good" and tried to watch some Live TV, same results.

Changing recording mode to one of the MPEG-2 quality settings, I am able to watch live TV with Placeshifter. I haven't got any MPEG-2 recordings to try out but I'm sure they'll work.

So... does Placeshifter not support MPEG-4 and DivX playback? Or, what might I be doing wrong?

Thanks in advance.
Old 05-15-2006, 01:47 PM
Sage User

MP4 & Placeshifter

I can't speak to Divx, but I have Nero Encoded MP4's and they play perfectly in Placeshifter and Sage Client using the default player. Strangely, and I've never gotten an answer that makes sense, I have to use an external media player to watch my MP4's on the server.
Old 05-15-2006, 03:29 PM
Sage User

More Info: