SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Old 06-06-2006, 02:39 AM
Sage User

Newbie could really do with some advice

Hi All,

As the title suggests I'm a newbie to SageTV. So new in fact that I have yet to download and install the trial version. Before I embark on this quest I have a few questions I'd like to ask.

I'm currently running MCE 2005 but am getting fed up with its instability (despite having all approved hardware in my system) and more importantly the fact that in order to watch it in other rooms I have to go and buy an expensive Xbox 360!

On to my questions in no particular order:

1. Will SageTV run on a box with MCE 2005 as its OS?
2. I have 2 x Sky STB's connected to a PVR 150 and PVR 250 tuner card, is this setup okay with SageTV?
3. Can SageTV use my MCE remote to operate and send channel changes to the STB as the currently do now?
4. As I am in the UK, how complex or tedious is it getting a EPG?

That's the short list of questions.
Looking forward to some replies.
Many thanks
Darren
Old 06-06-2006, 04:29 AM
Sage Advanced User

Quote:
1. Will SageTV run on a box with MCE 2005 as its OS?
No problem, though I understand that you will have to prevent the MCE recording services starting as these will conflict with SageTV for control of the capture cards.

Quote:
2. I have 2 x Sky STB's connected to a PVR 150 and PVR 250 tuner card, is this setup okay with SageTV?