SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Old 07-07-2006, 10:38 AM

Question Noob searched & still has a few setup questions... :-)

Hi all,

I'm new to SageTV and am trying to get things sorted in this 15day trial before I purchase it (but I certainly will - it looks light-years beyond other stuff out there and seems to have a nice community supporting it - also I think I will mention Sage to everyone as it really looks great so far).

Anyway, I originally thought that I could allocate an old computer of mine to be the PVR but I'm having second thoughts and wanted to ask a few questions about both Performance and Setup/Installation/Configuration. Hopefully someone can help me - I've searched these forums and the web and have found some answers but not all..

My current setup is:
  • Win 2000 SP4
  • AMD Athlon 1.4Ghz (Soltek motherboard with Via chipset, and latest bios)
  • 1Gb RAM
  • ATI Radeon 9550 Video Card with TVout to display SageTV on a TV (latest Catalyst drivers)
  • Hauppauge PVR150MCE with card and MCE remote (not sure which driver it could be the pre-release ones or the 31.Ds it was a bit strange getting it to work at first - even though I did use HCWCLear..)

I'll ask the PERFORMANCE question first since I think the configuration things may be related??