SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Old 07-17-2006, 09:51 AM
Sage User

Question New SageTV Setup (will this work?)

Ok, I'm brand new to this whole Sage thing, but I've been looking for a solution, that I think Sage will provide, off and on for the last few years. Anyway, here's what I'm thinking...

Scenario: I'm building a new house now. I will have a theater room with a HDTV projector and a 110" screen, 50" plasma in the bedroom, and a 50" DLP in the living room. The provider will probably be DishNetwork, and I will have 2 HD boxes and 1 SD box. Those will all be in a wiring closet with my SageTV server. Each TV will have a PC running SageTV client so I can stream HD to each one.

Questions:
1. Will this set up allow me to stream HD recordings, live HD, and SD live/recordings to each TV?
2. The SageTV server will be close enough to serve as a client for my theater room. Can it do that? Or do I have to have another PC running SageClient?
3. I'm planning on having a wired GigE network. Will this be enough bandwidth if I had to stream 2 live HD feeds at the same time?
4. If the satellite box does the HD tuning, do I still need an HD tuner card in the SageTV server, or will a regular tuner do the same thing?
5. Is there a limit to the number of tuners Sage can support? (I'll need 4, but may need to expand later.)

Thanks for taking the time to read this rather winded post. Any help is appreciated.
Old 07-17-2006, 10:06 AM
Sage Icon