SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Old 07-24-2006, 04:42 AM
Sage Expert

HDTV Card Suggestions

So being that I am new to HDTV I am clueless on what card to get. But I think my best options are these 4 cards:

AVerMedia AverTVHD MCE A180 HDTV
VBOX Cat's Eye DTA-150 ATSC Terrestrial
DVICO FusionHDTV5 RT Lite
DVICO FusionHDTV5 RT Gold

Does anyone know which card is considered "the best" card there is? Pric doesn't really matter to me, I would spend a few extra bucks to get the best quailty card. But basically I am looking for is what ever is going to use the least amount of resources on my machine but first provide the best pictuer quality there is.

I'm also pretty sure I won't need QAM support but maybe in the future. Which actually I should ask too. If my cable company has open QAM could I just plug them into the card and not use an antenna? If so, if I find out that I do need QAM support for that (which I am assuming OTA you don’t have QAM?) then if I had to I wouldn’t mind having a 3rd party app that only would record HDTV for me.

I’m not able too find to much info on comparing cards besides with the HDTV Wonder, which has an attractive price with a rebate at NewEgg but I have read that like the DVICO FusionHDTV5 RT Lite has better signal strength then the Wonder does.

Which also reminds me, is there any difference in quality between the DVICO FusionHDTV5 RT Lite and DVICO FusionHDTV5 RT Gold? Because so far I am leaning towards getting the DVICO FusionHDTV5 RT Lite.

Thanks!
Old 07-24-2006, 09:20 AM
Sage Fanatic