SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Old 10-08-2003, 04:47 PM
Sage User

Thumbs up Building a new multimedia server

I'm just looking into building a multimedia server for my place, looking at a few of the various products available & have a few observations to bounce around. Please throw in your 2 cents if you see fit.....

First of all there appear to be at least 3 or 4 products that fit the "multimedia server" mold. MS's XP MCE, SnapStream & SageTV. Of these three, ALL 3 use the Haupaugge PVR-250/350 capture cards, so regardless of what I do, one of these two cards are the one to get.

Of these 3 multimedia platforms, MCE appears to be the least flexible since you have to buy an OEM computer. I've been building boxes for 10 years & it isn't likely I'm going to start buying from HP anytime soon, especially after reading some of the hellish experiences a few of you are going thru! Besides I have a brand new P4 2.4 gig. with 100 gig HD & 512 meg. RAM sitting in the living room full of MP3s & hooked up to the stereo right now.... just beggin to be hooked up to the TV & setup as a TIVO.

Of the forums for each of these platforms, SageTV appears to be the only one that is NOT full problems. The MCE group is even full of hostility & threats! Is this because Sage is the smaller of the three? Or because it's a clearly better product with happier users?

Haupaugge actually has a pretty cool application themselves, including the new thin client box for remote TVs. I'm hoping that one of these 3 media server platform manufacturers will jump on this baby as it would be great to use for TVs where I'm not likely to have a PC nearby.

Love to hear your thoughts.....
Old 10-08-2003, 06:12 PM
Sage Fanatic

Bill,