SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Customizations > SageMC Custom Interface
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageMC Custom Interface This forum is for discussing the user-created SageMC custom interface for SageTV.

Old 10-05-2006, 09:26 AM
Sage Aficionado

Updating mlbdude Original SageMC to Sage V6

I've been using Sage ever since V2 Beta in late 2004. My super-duper PII 450 has been chugging away 24/7 for almost 3 years now! I use to be very active on this board until 2 kids popped out of my wife and my spare-time just vanished!

I have been using mlbdude's SageMC since he created it and have never updated to the flachbar? version. I am only using a couple of weather plugins (WRS) and a newsreader from nielm as add-ins.

Can I upgrade (happily giving Sage $30) to Sage V6 and upgrade to the latest SageMC? Is there anything I should do? Any upgrade paths I should follow (upgrade Sage to V6 first then SageMC? etc)?

Thanks

Proud owner of a HD200 connected to a 47" LCD. Loving Sage 7 and Phoenix
Old 10-05-2006, 09:57 AM
SageTVaholic

First copy your existing Sage installation somewhere else for safe keeping.
Then try updating the existing installation with Sage 6. Then test the bejeezers out of it. If everything is good then since you already have the original SageMC just get the latest flachbar.

If you have issues.
Then uninstall everything. Blow away the directory and do a clean install of Sage 6 and get your tuners and everything working and tested. Once you're OK and tested shut Sage down completely and copy in your wiz.bin from the directory you copied out. Now you should have all of your history, favorties, etc. Since it is a clean install you will need to install the original SageMC and then flachbar. (Or check out the installer Jason built-maybe that's all you need for a clean install.)

Hopefully this makes some sense.