SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Customizations > SageMC Custom Interface
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageMC Custom Interface This forum is for discussing the user-created SageMC custom interface for SageTV.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #121  
Old 12-05-2007, 03:20 PM
evilpenguin's Avatar
evilpenguin evilpenguin is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,696
Quote:
Originally Posted by mickp View Post
Damn. Any chance of having it ready for Christmas?

Mick.
It might actually be working now, I just haven't had the time to test it out (its a real pain to verify )

How about this, i'll give it a quick once over, enable it in the next release and then people who want to use it can help me debug it by using it and reporting issues?
  #122  
Old 12-05-2007, 04:28 PM
TechBill's Avatar
TechBill TechBill is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 827
Quote:
Originally Posted by evilpenguin View Post
It might actually be working now, I just haven't had the time to test it out (its a real pain to verify )

How about this, i'll give it a quick once over, enable it in the next release and then people who want to use it can help me debug it by using it and reporting issues?

Yes it a great idea and you can count me in to help debug it and report any issue found!

Bill
__________________
HTPC System
GIGABYTE GA-MA69GM-S2H AM2 AMD 690G HDMI // AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz // G.SKILL 6GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR // Hauppauge Colossus HD-PVR // Hauppauge Colossus HD-PVR // Seagate ST3750640AS 750GB SATA-300 16MB // DVD R/W - SAMSUNG Black
Media Extenders
HD300
HTPC Software
Windows 7 Professional 64bits // SageTV 7.1.x // Java 1.7.x
  #123  
Old 12-05-2007, 08:26 PM
evilpenguin's Avatar
evilpenguin evilpenguin is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,696
Thumbs up Good news for HB HDTV encoding :)

A HandBrake dev did a little digging into our HDTV issue and seems to have isolated the cause. I'll keep an eye out for the fix (he said it'd take a bit) and try and get working build asap.
  #124  
Old 12-05-2007, 08:59 PM
toricred's Avatar
toricred toricred is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Northern New Mexico
Posts: 1,729
That would be great. My last compression using mencoder took 6 hours to encode a 1 hour show. HB seems to be taking about 40 minutes for the same show.
  #125  
Old 12-06-2007, 02:21 AM
mickp's Avatar
mickp mickp is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 468
Quote:
Originally Posted by evilpenguin View Post
It might actually be working now, I just haven't had the time to test it out (its a real pain to verify )

How about this, i'll give it a quick once over, enable it in the next release and then people who want to use it can help me debug it by using it and reporting issues?
Woot. That would be great.

Thanks E.P.

Mick.
  #126  
Old 12-09-2007, 04:23 PM
evilpenguin's Avatar
evilpenguin evilpenguin is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,696
Talking SageMC Video Tools v3.0f

Change list-
  • Note: I added some features to SageMC_169_ep.xml as well so you'll need to start off with my new one as your base.
  • Feature: Enabled DVD burning
  • Feature: Added Commercial Cutting for compressed videos
  • Feature: ReAdded way more awesome autocrop thanks to comskip
  • Feature: Added AutoEncode profile which basically inspects the video sets the encoding options based off of that (more on this below)
  • Feature: Added "Wait for Comskip" and "Wait for Archived" to Auto-Compress favorites options (thanks JREkiwi!)
  • Feature: MKV now works for mencoder
  • Feature: AAC 5.1 audio now works for Mencoder
  • Profile Enhancement: Added ability to set CLI switches from within profiles (this is how the AutoEncode profile works)
  • Profile Enhancement: Added ability to inspect the video properties of temporary videos in the encoding process and make encoding decisions based off of this (this is how AAC 5.1 profile works)
  • Bugfix: If you try and pass Handbrake a video it can't handle it will automatically be passed to mencoder
  • Known Issue – Handbrake still can't handle HDTV-PS videos, but they've isolated the problem and will patch it when they get a chance.
  • Known Issue – Commercial cutting only when compressing to .avi
  • Known Issue – I forgot about commercial cutting in video DVD's

Last edited by evilpenguin; 12-09-2007 at 04:42 PM.
  #127  
Old 12-09-2007, 04:24 PM
evilpenguin's Avatar
evilpenguin evilpenguin is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,696
AutoEncode.profile

Code:
# Profile: AutoEncode
#
# Automagically encode content
#

    Encode CLI #1     =/twoPass<&>/mp3<&>/x264<&>/autoCrop
    Encoder #1        =setOptions
    Encode CLI #3     =?>ORIGINAL:videoContainer=~mpeg&&ORIGINAL:videoResolution=~x1080<:>/deinterlace<&><?
    Encoder #3        =setOptions
    Encode CLI #2     =?>ORIGINAL:videoContainer=~mpeg&&!ORIGINAL:videoResolution=~(x1080|x720)<:>/deinterlace<&>/deNoise<&><?
    Encoder #2        =setOptions
    Encode CLI #4     =?>ORIGINAL:videoContainer=~mpeg&&ORIGINAL:videoResolution=~(x1080|x720)<:>/verticalScale<&>688<&><?
    Encoder #4        =setOptions
    Encode CLI #5     =?>(>(>ORIGINAL:videoContainer=~mpeg&&ORIGINAL:videoResolution=~(x1080|x720)<)||!ORIGINAL:videoContainer=~mpeg||ORIGINAL:audioCodec=~ac3<)&&!isDVD<:>Mencoder<=>HandBrake<?
    Encoder #5        =insertFunction
    Output Mode       =
Here's an example of the awesome kind of things you can do with profile files. As you can see above, the profile checks the video properties and sets the options the same way I would do it by hand. If you don't like these defaults, all you have to do is open this file and modify it
Code:
# Profile: AutoEncode
#
# Automagically encode content
#

    Encode CLI #1     =/onePass<&>/aac<&>/x264<&>/autoCrop<&>/mkv
    Encoder #1        =setOptions
    Encode CLI #3     =?>ORIGINAL:videoContainer=~mpeg&&ORIGINAL:videoResolution=~x1080<:>/deinterlace<&><?
    Encoder #3        =setOptions
    Encode CLI #2     =?>ORIGINAL:videoContainer=~mpeg&&!ORIGINAL:videoResolution=~(x1080|x720)<:>/deinterlace<&>/deNoise<&><?
    Encoder #2        =setOptions
    Encode CLI #4     =?>ORIGINAL:videoContainer=~mpeg&&ORIGINAL:videoResolution=~(x1080)<:>/verticalScale<&>720<&><?
    Encoder #4        =setOptions
    Encode CLI #5     =?>(>(>ORIGINAL:videoContainer=~mpeg&&ORIGINAL:videoResolution=~(x1080|x720)<)||!ORIGINAL:videoContainer=~mpeg||ORIGINAL:audioCodec=~ac3<)&&!isDVD<:>Mencoder<=>HandBrake<?
    Encoder #5        =insertFunction
    Output Mode       =
  #128  
Old 12-09-2007, 05:26 PM
toricred's Avatar
toricred toricred is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Northern New Mexico
Posts: 1,729
I see the new setting for "Wait for comskip file." Is this waiting for a .txt file or just one created by comskip (maybe the edl file)?
  #129  
Old 12-09-2007, 05:46 PM
evilpenguin's Avatar
evilpenguin evilpenguin is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,696
Quote:
Originally Posted by toricred View Post
I see the new setting for "Wait for comskip file." Is this waiting for a .txt file or just one created by comskip (maybe the edl file)?
It waits for a txt or edl file which would indicate that your commercial detection method is finished.
  #130  
Old 12-09-2007, 05:57 PM
toricred's Avatar
toricred toricred is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Northern New Mexico
Posts: 1,729
I also don't see the setting to turn on/off commercial removal. Is this tied to the same setting?

By the way, the folder that holds the work files now has several spreadsheets (I'm using autoencode) is it related to the autocrop?
  #131  
Old 12-09-2007, 06:03 PM
evilpenguin's Avatar
evilpenguin evilpenguin is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,696
This was asked on MissingRemote so I thought i'd answer it here.

Quote:
Is there any chance of getting this ported to the standard Sage STV?
The main reason I haven't ported anything over to the Standard Sage STV yet is that I simply don't use it so its (selfishly) a very low priority for me.

Aside from that, there are technical hurdles in adding it to the Standard STV as it currently relies heavily on hooks in the base SageMC that Dirk was generous enough to provide to me.

The only other option (which I greatly prefer) is for Sage to generic up their compression system a ton so that it would be able to call alternate encoding apps such as this.
  #132  
Old 12-09-2007, 06:10 PM
evilpenguin's Avatar
evilpenguin evilpenguin is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,696
Quote:
Originally Posted by toricred View Post
I also don't see the setting to turn on/off commercial removal. Is this tied to the same setting?
Commercial cutting can now be set in the advanced compression options menu.



Quote:
Originally Posted by toricred View Post
By the way, the folder that holds the work files now has several spreadsheets (I'm using autoencode) is it related to the autocrop?
Yep, my new method for detecting crop is to create ten evenly spaced 10 second clips of the video (or if -ss is failing due to a broken, mpg one 10 min clip), running comskip on each of those clips, and finally parsing the detailed .csv files to pull out insanely accurate crop settings.

The reason this works much better than mplayer's -cropDetect or HandBrake's built in autoCrop is that comskip was written to handle noisy mpg's and is able to account for the network logo which may be partly/entirely in the areas that need to be cut.

Last edited by evilpenguin; 12-09-2007 at 06:18 PM.
  #133  
Old 12-09-2007, 06:13 PM
toricred's Avatar
toricred toricred is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Northern New Mexico
Posts: 1,729
Am I to assume that Autoencode defaults to removing commercials?
  #134  
Old 12-09-2007, 06:18 PM
evilpenguin's Avatar
evilpenguin evilpenguin is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,696
Nope, I'll never turn on commercial cutting by default as my comskip files are still only accurate ~90% of the time. I prefer to encode them, check the comskip file, and if its good enough use the mencoderCommCut profile to remove the commercials from the .avi. If the commercials are really messed up, but I still want to cut them, i'll go in and fix the edl file by hand.

However, there's nothing stopping you from creating a custom AutoEncode profile that has it set by default

Last edited by evilpenguin; 12-09-2007 at 06:29 PM.
  #135  
Old 12-09-2007, 09:26 PM
toricred's Avatar
toricred toricred is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Northern New Mexico
Posts: 1,729
How do I get the auto encode to use the x264 TV profile and only one pass?
  #136  
Old 12-09-2007, 09:34 PM
CadErik's Avatar
CadErik CadErik is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by evilpenguin View Post
Change list-
  • [B]
  • Note: I added some features to SageMC_169_ep.xml as well so you'll need to start off with my new one as your base.
Terrific news! I have some blank DVDs ready here :-)
(I'll try with a RW first though...)

Any chances your changes could make it to the next official SageMC?

Erik.
  #137  
Old 12-09-2007, 09:43 PM
evilpenguin's Avatar
evilpenguin evilpenguin is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,696
@ toricred

Just change the first line of AutoEncode.profile to read...

Code:
# Profile: AutoEncode
#
# Automagically encode content
#

    Encode CLI #1     =/onePass<&>/mp3<&>/x264<&>/autoCrop<&>/TV
    Encoder #1        =setOptions
    Encode CLI #3     =?>ORIGINAL:videoContainer=~mpeg&&ORIGINAL:videoResolution=~x1080<:>/deinterlace<&><?
    Encoder #3        =setOptions
    Encode CLI #2     =?>ORIGINAL:videoContainer=~mpeg&&!ORIGINAL:videoResolution=~(x1080|x720)<:>/deinterlace<&>/deNoise<&><?
    Encoder #2        =setOptions
    Encode CLI #4     =?>ORIGINAL:videoContainer=~mpeg&&ORIGINAL:videoResolution=~(x1080)<:>/verticalScale<&>720<&><?
    Encoder #4        =setOptions
    Encode CLI #5     =?>(>(>ORIGINAL:videoContainer=~mpeg&&ORIGINAL:videoResolution=~(x1080|x720)<)||!ORIGINAL:videoContainer=~mpeg||ORIGINAL:audioCodec=~ac3<)&&!isDVD<:>Mencoder<=>HandBrake<?
    Encoder #5        =insertFunction
    Output Mode       =
More info @ http://perl2dvd.wiki.sourceforge.net/Profile+Files
  #138  
Old 12-09-2007, 10:32 PM
xj-boonie's Avatar
xj-boonie xj-boonie is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by evilpenguin View Post
Nope, I'll never turn on commercial cutting by default as my comskip files are still only accurate ~90% of the time. I prefer to encode them, check the comskip file, and if its good enough use the mencoderCommCut profile to remove the commercials from the .avi. If the commercials are really messed up, but I still want to cut them, i'll go in and fix the edl file by hand.

However, there's nothing stopping you from creating a custom AutoEncode profile that has it set by default
I know this is probably the wrong place to ask, and I never cared till now, but how does one check the comskip file? (or even know if it's being made?)

Thanks,
Mike

Downloading the plugin as we speak...
  #139  
Old 12-09-2007, 10:40 PM
evilpenguin's Avatar
evilpenguin evilpenguin is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,696
Quote:
Originally Posted by xj-boonie View Post
I know this is probably the wrong place to ask, and I never cared till now, but how does one check the comskip file? (or even know if it's being made?)

Thanks,
Mike

Downloading the plugin as we speak...
By that I mean just load it up in Sage and see how it looks. Even without watching the show you can pretty much tell when comskip was successful, and when it had a few problems.

For instance, every once and a while one commercial from a commercial break will be flagged as part of the show and you can see that as a commercial block with a little hole in it. Another common one is the opening of a show being too short and as such lumped in with the first commercial break.

All and all, for a 30 minute show, cutting commercials only save ~100 mb when compressing at 1500 kbs. And for my money that's not worth risking ruining a recording by a bad auto-cut.
  #140  
Old 12-09-2007, 11:01 PM
TechBill's Avatar
TechBill TechBill is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 827
I downloaded SageMC_VideoTools_v3_0f.exe and extracted it to SageTV folder then went to Load STV (not Import STVi) SageMC_169_ep.xml.

After loading it, I went to SageMC Extra and it's blank. There no setup menu for video tool in it.

Any idea what I may have missed?

Thank you
Bill
__________________
HTPC System
GIGABYTE GA-MA69GM-S2H AM2 AMD 690G HDMI // AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz // G.SKILL 6GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR // Hauppauge Colossus HD-PVR // Hauppauge Colossus HD-PVR // Seagate ST3750640AS 750GB SATA-300 16MB // DVD R/W - SAMSUNG Black
Media Extenders
HD300
HTPC Software
Windows 7 Professional 64bits // SageTV 7.1.x // Java 1.7.x
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
STV Import: Video Out Popup Menu for SageMC razrsharpe SageMC Custom Interface 7 04-03-2010 04:49 PM
STV Import: SageMC Video Tools v2.0.1a (2/02/07) evilpenguin SageMC Custom Interface 501 04-06-2009 05:13 PM
SageMC Video Tools 2.5 Alpha (need testers) evilpenguin SageMC Custom Interface 6 02-23-2007 07:59 PM
SageMC Video Tools vividweb SageMC Custom Interface 2 12-08-2006 06:34 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.