SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Old 10-30-2007, 03:22 PM
Sage Aficionado

Hello, and a hardware query

First of all, hello to everyone. I don't yet have sageTV, but intend it to be the base of my own TV system, as well as perhaps offering it to some of my future clients, as I am a self employed electrician.
As I plan to install it into my own house first, I have a few questions regarding my current setup.
At the moment I'm using MythTV, which is a Linux program, but to be honest, it's become more hassle than it's worth, and for the cost of SageTV I'd rather pay up and get something a bit more user friendly.

My current system comprises the following: -

AMD AM2 4200+ Dual Core
abit AN-M2HD Motherboard
Asus nVidia 7300GT gfx card
Hauppauge Nova T 500 DVB-t card
Leadtek DVT1000T DVB-t card
Samsung Spinpoint 500GB SATA II
1Gb Corsair RAM
Antec Fusion Case (Black)

Can anyone see any obvious pitfalls with the above? I'll be running on XP if it makes a difference.

Also, has anyone tried using Mac Mini's (Running Windows) with Sage Client? I'm quite interested in the possibility of using those in each TV room, so any advice will be muchly appreciated.

Also (Although prhaps the wrong forum section) what's the deal with the EPG for freeview TV in the UK? MythTV gets it's database over the airwaves, but I'm not sure whether SageTV can do the same. Again any advice most appreciated.

Thanks in advance

John
Old 10-30-2007, 03:59 PM
Sage Aficionado