SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Linux
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Linux Discussion related to the SageTV Media Center for Linux. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV Linux should be posted here.

Old 12-12-2007, 01:18 PM
Sage User

Migrating from windows to linux.

Hi,

I've been running a dedicated, windows based, sagetv server with 2 MVP's for the past three years. This setup has worked flawlessly.

Since I'm a unix sysadmin by profession, I am tempted to migrate the sagetv server to Linux. I haven't decided on which distro but it will probably be debian.

I've got four WinTV-PVR-150 MCE tuners in the server right now as well as one WinTV-PVR-USB2 and one HDHomeRun (for OTA HD) I plan to add at a later date.

I also ordered the SageTV HD Media Extender STX-HD100 that I plan to use as soon as I receive it.

From what I've read in the forums, everything should work just fine with the possible exception of the HDHomeRun . Can anyone confirm this ?

I plan to migrate the wiz.bin from the windows server to the new linux based server. My GF will have my head if I mess with her recordings . Is there a documented procedure on how to do this?

Has anyone tried recording to an NFS mount point ? If so, does it work well ?

If the recordings stay local to the server, do I need any special mount options for the recording directories ?

Thanks

Dan
Old 12-13-2007, 05:13 AM
SageTVaholic

I think when I moved from windows to linux I let the wiz.bin start over. The biggest challenge is replicating the path to the video files. You can always reimport tv shows with the web server add on.

B

your hw looks fine, I think the HDHR is now supported in 6.3.5 as well.

Last edited by bcjenkins; 12-13-2007 at 10:30 AM.
Old 12-13-2007, 09:35 AM
Sage Advanced User