SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Old 03-04-2008, 06:12 PM
Sage User

A word of thanks....for your software

Let me first state that I generally despise paying for software. Generally speaking, anyone that writes software for the Windows platform has to deal with the millions of hardware/software combinations, hardware drivers, Microsoft software/updates, user errors, and everything else in between. By the time you use it, it's broken, buggy, doesn't do what you want it to and wasted hours or days of your life that you'll never get back. Who would want to pay for that?

Enter SageTV. I have been using this product for several years on and off. I've been through MythTV, Snapstream, WMC 2005, Vista MC and GBPVR...none of which come close to Sage. I consider myself an advanced computer user and VERY PICKY about control over my TV. There's just too many channels, too many programs, series and movies and not enough time in the day to get my money's worth out of my cable bill each month.

Sage is the ONLY product I've found that "gets it" when it comes to extenders. They spent a lot of time and energy getting the MVP to work, and now the HD Extender. They understand that no one wants a big, noisy computer sitting next to their TV. For $800 I can build a PC capable of playing back High-Def content, or spend $200 on an extender. It's stupid-simple. It's the reason I chose Sage.