SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Media Extender
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Media Extender Discussion related to any SageTV Media Extender used directly by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to a SageTV supported media extender should be posted here. Use the SageTV HD Theater - Media Player forum for issues related to using an HD Theater while not connected to a SageTV server.

Old 07-21-2008, 10:31 AM
Sage Advanced User

Taking the next step to media extenders

I am ready to take the next step and add media extenders to my system. I have been running SageTV successfully for the past 8 months or so, but only as a one computer - one TV setup. I need now to add functionality to additional tvs around the house, but am a bit confused about the proper way to do this.

Current Setup: 3.0GHz Dual Core Pentium w 1Gig RAM and 1TByte HD for recordings. Not sure on video card, but it is a basic ATI one that came stock with the system. Currently it is plugged directly into a vizio LCD TV via the RGB connection and has 2 Haug 150 tuners with two satellite inputs and OTA input (no HD).

I just finished the basement and moved the system downstairs, but want to now pipe it up to the new TV in the front room as well as bedroom (so a total of 3 TVs). I am not doing any HD at the moment, as I only get a couple of HD channels OTA and hardly watch them. I might be more interested in HD when the rest of the OTA channels switch, so should I consider HD extenders for the two main TVs? (TV in bedroom is SD only)

My understanding is that I want to get an extender for each TV, even the one closest to the computer. I then have to switch SageTV over to running as a server? Can this be configured this way at this point, or do I have to do a fresh install?