SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Old 12-14-2008, 06:20 PM

is internet connection required?

so i've got a an old PC which i was about to kick to the curb.

I've also been thinking of getting a PVR, but not at $500 my cable company sells them for.

Then I thought, "maybe I can turn my old PC into a PVR", which is how I arrived here

Although I read the product descriptions and FAQs, I have some TOTAL noob questions - real high level stuff not even covered on the FAQs:
  1. The system requirements talk about 'hardware encoding' and 'software encoding', but I don't know the difference. I want to be able to record shows while I'm away, or maybe record one while watching another - that's all. Does that factor in?
  2. My PC is a PIII @ 600 MHz - is that enough CPU? I have 256MB RAM, which I can easily bump up, but I can't do much about the CPU. If the PC doesn't have enough horsepower, please let me know, and I'll forget the whole idea
  3. Aside from the tuner card, and SageTV, does the system require an internet connection? Is that how it accesses the scheduling grid? Or does it get it from the digital signal? This is also a dealbreaker for me, because I don't have WiFi, and I'm not stringing a LAN cable from my router to the living room!
  4. Is SageTV compatible in Canada? (Specifically, Rogers, who is my current cable provider)

I guess that's about it... If I can add a Software\Card bundle at more than half the price of a PVR box, that'll be my holiday project