SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Old 05-21-2009, 10:26 AM
Sage User

Before buying SageTV, want to make sure my IR works.

Hi there,

I'm looking to buy Sage, because out of everything I have tried so far (MCE, WinTV, etc), I like Sage. And I think Sage is the answer to make things work for me.

I recently bought a Hauppage WinTV PVR 150 MCE kit, which came with the TV Tuner card, a remote, an IR cable with a bud and an IR blaster USB. Now, I'm a newb with regards to PVR and my technical acumen with other things is above average.

So far I've been able to get the TV signal on SageTV and I know it all works. However, I have no idea how to get the IR configuration to work so it changes the channels on my Motorola RG2400V provided by Bell TV (which has an "IR blaster" port in the back btw) in Canada. Infact, I don't even know how to connect them around. The hauppage documentation regarding this is sparse.

An FYI, the brand on the back of the USB thing (Is that the blaster or receiver or what the hell is it called?) is SMK. So, what I did is connect the little bud on the STB and connect the USB thing to my computer, lol.. when I pull up the "IR blaster configuration" software provided by the CD of the WinTV PVR 150, it says "IR Hardware not found" (which a lot of people have complained about it seems). I even tried plugging in the IR bud into the port two of the USB device.

Anyhow, can someone please help me make it work?
And some definitions of the components that make up this "IR hardware" would be nice too.

Thanks a lot!

--