SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Customizations > SageMC Custom Interface
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageMC Custom Interface This forum is for discussing the user-created SageMC custom interface for SageTV.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-06-2009, 12:15 AM
flightman flightman is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 8
Main Menu link to folder?

Hi,

I just started using SageTV and SageMC. How can I link an item on the main menu to a specific media folder (that is, a shared folder with video files)?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-06-2009, 12:49 PM
razrsharpe razrsharpe is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2,111
see if this helps (and the rest of that thread too...):
http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/show...3&postcount=21
__________________
Server 2003 r2 32bit, SageTV9 (finally!)
2x Dual HDHR (OTA), 1x HD-PVR (Comcast), 1x HDHR-3CC via SageDCT (Comcast)
2x HD300, 1x SageClient (Win10 Test/Development)
Check out TVExplorer
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-07-2009, 06:32 PM
flightman flightman is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 8
Thanks. I'm looking at it but I haven't gotten anything to work, yet. I don't understand why I can't seem to find clear documentation for this kind of thing?

There's this example:

Code:
    <evalExpression>AddStaticContext("PathFilterExprs", new_java_util_ArrayList())</evalExpression>
    <evalExpression>java_util_List_add(PathFilterExprs, "V:\\Imported-Video\\Restricted")</evalExpression>
    <evalExpression>AddStaticContext("PathFilterExcludes", true)</evalExpression>
And there's this (for "sagetv v6"):

Code:
<evalExpression>AddGlobalContext("CurrentVideoBrowserFolder", "Kids/")</evalExpression>
or:

Code:
<evalExpression>AddGlobalContext("CurrentVideoBrowserFolder", new_java_io_File("\\\\mediaserver\\media\\Video\\Kids"))</evalExpression>
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-07-2009, 07:36 PM
flightman flightman is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 8
I should probably add that I want to point to a subfolder of a folder that is in the media library.

Eg:

This folder is in the media library (includes subfolders)

c:\video

and I want to add a direct menu item to

c:\video\movies
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-07-2009, 08:41 PM
razrsharpe razrsharpe is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2,111
Quote:
Originally Posted by flightman View Post
I should probably add that I want to point to a subfolder of a folder that is in the media library.

Eg:

This folder is in the media library (includes subfolders)

c:\video

and I want to add a direct menu item to

c:\video\movies
unfortunately you can't do that.

Path filter expressions MUST be import folders (and they must match the case exactly). So if you want a menu link to c:\video\movies that needs to be an import folder.

And this is the code you want. If you follow the write up in the post i linked to previously that should get you all the syntax you need.
Code:
    <evalExpression>AddStaticContext("PathFilterExprs", new_java_util_ArrayList())</evalExpression>
    <evalExpression>java_util_List_add(PathFilterExprs, "V:\\Imported-Video\\Restricted")</evalExpression>
    <evalExpression>AddStaticContext("PathFilterExcludes", true)</evalExpression>
__________________
Server 2003 r2 32bit, SageTV9 (finally!)
2x Dual HDHR (OTA), 1x HD-PVR (Comcast), 1x HDHR-3CC via SageDCT (Comcast)
2x HD300, 1x SageClient (Win10 Test/Development)
Check out TVExplorer
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-08-2009, 12:09 AM
flightman flightman is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by razrsharpe View Post
unfortunately you can't do that
Are you sure you can't? Where are these definitions found? I'm still curious about 'CurrentVideoFolder'.

In any case, though, it's not a big deal. I probably won't have more than a couple folders to share, anyway. So, I'll just go ahead and set it up that way.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-08-2009, 07:43 AM
razrsharpe razrsharpe is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2,111
Quote:
Originally Posted by flightman View Post
Are you sure you can't?
I'm not 100% sure because I didn't write the filtering code but that is my understanding and my experience with pathfilterexpressions. The two main stumbling blocks for using them seem to be: the folder must be an import folder, and it's case must match the import directory exactly

Quote:
Where are these definitions found? I'm still curious about 'CurrentVideoFolder'.
I can't seem to find the "official" documentation right now... but do a forum search for "sagemc_menu.xml" you'll find lots of posts. I am not familiar with 'CurrentVideoFolder' and have no idea what it does or what you use it for.
__________________
Server 2003 r2 32bit, SageTV9 (finally!)
2x Dual HDHR (OTA), 1x HD-PVR (Comcast), 1x HDHR-3CC via SageDCT (Comcast)
2x HD300, 1x SageClient (Win10 Test/Development)
Check out TVExplorer
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-08-2009, 07:47 AM
PLUCKYHD PLUCKYHD is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by razrsharpe View Post
I'm not 100% sure because I didn't write the filtering code but that is my understanding and my experience with pathfilterexpressions. The two main stumbling blocks for using them seem to be: the folder must be an import folder, and it's case must match the import directory exactly

I can't seem to find the "official" documentation right now... but do a forum search for "sagemc_menu.xml" you'll find lots of posts. I am not familiar with 'CurrentVideoFolder' and have no idea what it does or what you use it for.
It must be in the import folder because pathfilterexpressions relies on import directories ie GetMediaFiles() from the sage api and that will only return files/items that are imported. That is my understanding

As for CurrentFolder that is an attribute you can set in pathfilterexpressions but going straight to the folder would achieve the same results as Razor said.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-08-2009, 07:26 PM
flightman flightman is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 8
Thanks for the replies. I just tried adding the path I am using and it still doesn't work, though. I typed it exactly as I see on the TV (after adding it to video folders):

<evalExpression>AddStaticContext("PathFilterExprs", new_java_util_ArrayList())</evalExpression>
<evalExpression>java_util_List_add("PathFilterExprs", "D:\\Videos\\Movies")</evalExpression>
<evalExpression>AddStaticContext("PathFilterExcludes", false)</evalExpression>

PLUCKYHD
That makes sense except that Sage can obviously get to subfolders in an added folder or I wouldn't be able to browse anything. So, I don't see why I should need to add a folder that is already there (essentially). In any case, it's not working, at this point...

Last edited by flightman; 09-08-2009 at 07:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-08-2009, 09:01 PM
razrsharpe razrsharpe is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2,111
that looks right... can you post the full menu snippet for the video library... the line before and after in your sagemc_menu.xml?

one thing to try... (someone else just had this issue a couple days ago)
  1. remove all your video import files
  2. rescan your library
  3. add back your video import directories
  4. rescan your library
Sage needs to refresh its library... and the above steps ensures that it happens in a sage friendly way.
__________________
Server 2003 r2 32bit, SageTV9 (finally!)
2x Dual HDHR (OTA), 1x HD-PVR (Comcast), 1x HDHR-3CC via SageDCT (Comcast)
2x HD300, 1x SageClient (Win10 Test/Development)
Check out TVExplorer
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-11-2009, 12:02 AM
flightman flightman is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 8
Hmm I tried that.. still nothing!

Here is the entry as I have it:

<internalScreenMenuItem icon="hover_dvd.png" screen="Video Library Folder View" title="Movies">
<evalExpression>AddStaticContext("PathFilterExprs", new_java_util_ArrayList())</evalExpression>
<evalExpression>java_util_List_add("PathFilterExprs", "V:\\DVDs")</evalExpression>
<evalExpression>AddStaticContext("PathFilterExcludes", false)</evalExpression>
</internalScreenMenuItem>

That is definitely the right path.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-11-2009, 02:08 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Check to make sure that the path is EXACTLY the same as it shows up in the sage.properties file's "seeker/archive_directory" property.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-11-2009, 07:15 AM
razrsharpe razrsharpe is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2,111
did you try lowercase 'V'... (grasping at straws)

or switch to using UNC paths... i don't think i ever got local paths to work with the path filter expressions so therefore (and for the whole server/client reasons) i use UNC paths exclusively
__________________
Server 2003 r2 32bit, SageTV9 (finally!)
2x Dual HDHR (OTA), 1x HD-PVR (Comcast), 1x HDHR-3CC via SageDCT (Comcast)
2x HD300, 1x SageClient (Win10 Test/Development)
Check out TVExplorer
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-11-2009, 07:22 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
not sure, but the : may also need to be excaped.. (V\:\\DVDs) regarldess, razr's suggestion for using UNC paths is really the universally approved way of mapping folders with Sage.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Back to Main Menu" Link thecgmguy SageMC Custom Interface 2 12-20-2008 01:44 AM
exit menu item on main menu 49studebaker SageMC Custom Interface 1 11-14-2008 03:27 AM
How do you link a menu? SageGk SageMC Custom Interface 1 04-03-2008 09:32 PM
Link Animations to Menu Items? jagee23 SageTV Customizations 2 07-24-2006 07:03 AM
Where can I find the menu title theme (Main Menu, Program Guide, Setup Menu, etc) mkanet SageTV Studio 5 11-11-2005 04:55 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.