SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV v7 Customizations
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV v7 Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV version 7 application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss plugins for SageTV version 7 and newer.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #301  
Old 06-17-2016, 07:47 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,491
Not requiring a password is probably not a good idea if you make your Sage web UI accessible from the internet, and I don't know why you wouldn't want to do this as it is HUGELY useful to be able to set up recordings, etc when away from home. Although I guess another option is to use a VPN on remote devices.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #302  
Old 06-17-2016, 08:17 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Not requiring a password is probably not a good idea if you make your Sage web UI accessible from the internet, and I don't know why you wouldn't want to do this as it is HUGELY useful to be able to set up recordings, etc when away from home. Although I guess another option is to use a VPN on remote devices.
I find placeshifter/miniclient is MUCH more intuitive for remote management.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #303  
Old 06-17-2016, 08:22 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,491
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
I find placeshifter/miniclient is MUCH more intuitive for remote management.
Perhaps but that doesn't work so well from a corporate computer (where you can't install non-business software or where ports are blocked) or from an iPhone/iPad.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #304  
Old 06-17-2016, 09:28 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,851
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Not requiring a password is probably not a good idea if you make your Sage web UI accessible from the internet, and I don't know why you wouldn't want to do this as it is HUGELY useful to be able to set up recordings, etc when away from home. Although I guess another option is to use a VPN on remote devices.
I'm writing something that programatically access my Sage server via sagex, and it's not possible to have a user manually enter a password. I wanted to disable the password checking for testing purposes since I can't get the userassword to be accepted in the URL.

From the various responses I am gathering I can't get it to recognize the userassword in the URL but I may be able to disable password checking by editing one of the Jetty xml files.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.

Last edited by tmiranda; 06-17-2016 at 09:36 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #305  
Old 06-17-2016, 10:37 AM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,657
Are you doing this in Java? Have you tried encoding the username and password in base64 in the request header. This code is adapted to your need, but it's based on code that works for communication with the HDMI network encoders which use basic authentication.

Code:
String username = "username";
String password = "password";
URL address = new URL("http://server:8080/sagex/api");

URLConnection connection = address.openConnection();
String encodedBytes = DatatypeConverter.printBase64Binary((username + ":" + password).getBytes(StandardCharsets.UTF_8));
connection.setRequestProperty("Authorization", "Basic " + encodedBytes);
Java 8 has a Base64 class for this, but since most users are running Java 7, I would probably not raise the bar. Also I think you can set a username and password for HTTP communication in Java, but it will apply to all communications which is not what I normally want.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #306  
Old 06-17-2016, 01:28 PM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,851
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnterNoEscape View Post
Are you doing this in Java? Have you tried encoding the username and password in base64 in the request header. This code is adapted to your need, but it's based on code that works for communication with the HDMI network encoders which use basic authentication.

Code:
String username = "username";
String password = "password";
URL address = new URL("http://server:8080/sagex/api");

URLConnection connection = address.openConnection();
String encodedBytes = DatatypeConverter.printBase64Binary((username + ":" + password).getBytes(StandardCharsets.UTF_8));
connection.setRequestProperty("Authorization", "Basic " + encodedBytes);
Java 8 has a Base64 class for this, but since most users are running Java 7, I would probably not raise the bar. Also I think you can set a username and password for HTTP communication in Java, but it will apply to all communications which is not what I normally want.
I'll give that a try over the weekend. http communication is not my strong point!
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #307  
Old 06-17-2016, 02:52 PM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,657
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmiranda View Post
I'll give that a try over the weekend. http communication is not my strong point!
After working with microcontrollers for so long, I am used to doing things the hard way.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #308  
Old 06-18-2016, 05:02 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,851
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnterNoEscape View Post
Are you doing this in Java? Have you tried encoding the username and password in base64 in the request header. This code is adapted to your need, but it's based on code that works for communication with the HDMI network encoders which use basic authentication.

Code:
String username = "username";
String password = "password";
URL address = new URL("http://server:8080/sagex/api");

URLConnection connection = address.openConnection();
String encodedBytes = DatatypeConverter.printBase64Binary((username + ":" + password).getBytes(StandardCharsets.UTF_8));
connection.setRequestProperty("Authorization", "Basic " + encodedBytes);
Java 8 has a Base64 class for this, but since most users are running Java 7, I would probably not raise the bar. Also I think you can set a username and password for HTTP communication in Java, but it will apply to all communications which is not what I normally want.
This worked! Thank you.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #309  
Old 06-18-2016, 08:46 AM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,657
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmiranda View Post
This worked! Thank you.
Glad I could help!
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #310  
Old 06-20-2016, 11:36 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Perhaps but that doesn't work so well from a corporate computer (where you can't install non-business software or where ports are blocked) or from an iPhone/iPad.
Perhaps, but placeshifter doesn't need to be 'installed'- you can just copy the folder onto a thumbdrive and run it from there - and i have it set to i believe port 21, so the work firewall lets it through thinking it's an FTP site.

I wouldn't burden myself with an iPhone - so that solves that problem.. :-)
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #311  
Old 06-20-2016, 03:13 PM
NetworkGuy NetworkGuy is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 869
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
Perhaps, but placeshifter doesn't need to be 'installed'- you can just copy the folder onto a thumbdrive and run it from there
I did not know that. That is really useful.
__________________
Hardware: Intel Core i5-3330 CPU; 8GB (2 x 4GB); 2-4TB WD Blue SATA 6.0Gb/s HDD; Windows 7
Servers: ChannelsDVR, Plex, AnyStream, PlayOn,
Tuner: HDHomeRun Connect Quatro
Tuner: HDHomeRun Connect Duo
Sources: OTA, Sling Blue, Prime, Disney+,
Clients: ShieldTV (2), Fire TV Stick 4K (4)
Reply With Quote
  #312  
Old 06-20-2016, 03:33 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetworkGuy View Post
I did not know that. That is really useful.
Yeah, I think most the computers I use at work have a copy of placeshifter sitting in C:\Temp somewhere.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #313  
Old 06-27-2016, 01:58 PM
waynedunham waynedunham is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,469
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
Yeah, I think most the computers I use at work have a copy of placeshifter sitting in C:\Temp somewhere.
You're lucky. I'm retired 3 years now, but at my work they had so much trouble with people infecting the network with virus/spyware infected USB drives they disabled the USB ports on our computers. Just an FYI here, the IT department (a Municipality network) was so bass-ackwards this was their ham handed (gee, I don't know how things work) way of "fixing" the problem.

We had to get them to unlock our USB ports because we had a USB device we had to have access to. I was a FireFighter and our AED (Automatic External Defibrillator) devices used a USB connection to download the data after every use so we could send that information in with our reports on the incident.
Of course that was before just about everything used the USB ports. Our monochrome laser printers still used a printer port (how quaint!) and all our keyboards and mice plugged into their respective PS2 ports (also quite quaint)
__________________
Wayne Dunham
Reply With Quote
  #314  
Old 06-27-2016, 02:02 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,491
Even if you do have access to USB ports you may find that the IP ports are blocked at work so you may not be able to use placeshifter unless you route it through port 80 or something similar, assuming that you could even do that.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #315  
Old 06-27-2016, 05:32 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Even if you do have access to USB ports you may find that the IP ports are blocked at work so you may not be able to use placeshifter unless you route it through port 80 or something similar, assuming that you could even do that.
Yeah, like I said, i host placeshifter as port 21. Works great. That, combined with RDP as port 80, and I've got essentially full access to my home from just about any internet connected device.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #316  
Old 06-27-2016, 06:20 PM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
Yeah, like I said, i host placeshifter as port 21. Works great. That, combined with RDP as port 80, and I've got essentially full access to my home from just about any internet connected device.
I found this neat web based remote gateway called Guacamole, now Apache Guacamole (incubating), that is wonderful for getting around port restrictions and being secure via TLS. Doesn't work as well as a native RDP client but works well enough for most tasks from any browser.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #317  
Old 06-28-2016, 04:20 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,851
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
Yeah, like I said, i host placeshifter as port 21. Works great. That, combined with RDP as port 80, and I've got essentially full access to my home from just about any internet connected device.
Just be careful. I know for a fact that where I work you risk getting fired for running unauthorized software.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #318  
Old 12-22-2016, 09:11 PM
hb4 hb4 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 346
Having trouble logging into the Jetty Web Server.

Installed Jetty Web Server Plugin and am able to access from the Sage Server PC using (server LAN IP):8080/apps/ using the Plugin user and password, and can access the Web User Interface.

Logging in from the WAN using (Wan IP):8080/sage/ I get the login screen, to which I post the same user and password and I get:

HTTP ERROR 401

Problem accessing /sage/. Reason:

UNAUTHORIZED

Powered by Jetty://

So, I know I've made it through Port Forwarding and the Windows Firewall; any reason why the login fails?
__________________
Server: Intel i5-11400 @4.4GHz 6 cores Windows10 Pro, Sage 9.2.6.976, Comskip Donators
Capture: Fubo/TVEverywhere/ChannelsDVR/OpenDCT_0.5.32_x86.
Storage: 120gB SSD, 4tB HD on Server
Network: gB Lan
Playback: FireStick 4K miniclient
Tech Level: Hobbyist
Reply With Quote
  #319  
Old 01-05-2017, 02:52 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by hb4 View Post
Having trouble logging into the Jetty Web Server.

Installed Jetty Web Server Plugin and am able to access from the Sage Server PC using (server LAN IP):8080/apps/ using the Plugin user and password, and can access the Web User Interface.

Logging in from the WAN using (Wan IP):8080/sage/ I get the login screen, to which I post the same user and password and I get:

HTTP ERROR 401

Problem accessing /sage/. Reason:

UNAUTHORIZED

Powered by Jetty://

So, I know I've made it through Port Forwarding and the Windows Firewall; any reason why the login fails?
same problem here, started a few weeks ago - can't isolate why, but it's likely got something to do with partially rebuilding my SageTV Properties and my wiz.bin files. Is it possible a JAVA update broke it?
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300’s networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #320  
Old 01-07-2017, 01:31 PM
hb4 hb4 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 346
I don't understand 90% of what's in the forum, but here's a post that might shed some light. Unfortunately, the file structure mentioned in the thread does not match what I have. Probably a V7 vs V9 kinda thing.
__________________
Server: Intel i5-11400 @4.4GHz 6 cores Windows10 Pro, Sage 9.2.6.976, Comskip Donators
Capture: Fubo/TVEverywhere/ChannelsDVR/OpenDCT_0.5.32_x86.
Storage: 120gB SSD, 4tB HD on Server
Network: gB Lan
Playback: FireStick 4K miniclient
Tech Level: Hobbyist
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plugin: SageTV Web Interface V2 for Jetty jreichen SageTV Customizations 256 02-09-2014 08:05 AM
Plugin: Jetty Starter 1.6 jreichen SageTV Customizations 122 09-07-2012 06:48 PM
error message with web server plugin edgley SageTV Customizations 3 01-15-2006 11:32 AM
Sage Web Server and existing web server compatibilty? Brent94Z SageTV Customizations 6 01-18-2005 11:29 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.