SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Old 10-02-2010, 02:39 PM
Sage User

New SageTV Server Build (First Draft) - Opinions Please

Hi Guys,

So after like a year of building my house and wiring with CAT6 the time has finally come to start planning the good stuff, My Media Server (SageTV)!

I have come up with a first draft of the server I plan on building. I will provide the specs below for you guys to look over since I have no experience with the Sage Software and it's ideal requirements.

Also, please note that the hardware is based around an Intel Core2Quad CPU and not i7 (or i5). The reason for this is that I don't really feel Sage will need an "i" CPU. The 2.66Ghz Quad should suffice, if I am wrong then please let me know. Cheers!

Here goes for the specs: (all prices have been converted to Euro to give a ballpark overall build cost)

X-Case 4U RackMount Case €122
Corsair TX750W PSU €110
Intel C2Q Q9400 6MB 2.66GHz €170
Corsair 4GB DDR2 PC6400/800MHz €76.48
ASUS P5N72-T PREMIUM ATX €148
ASUS BR-04B2T Blu-ray Drive €57.68
Western Digital Caviar Green 2TB x2 (I Plan to Mirror these) €228
Total Build Cost: €912

The cost is a little high at the moment because I still need to add tuner cards. OS isn't a problem as I get Server2003 or 2008 from MS for free (Student). Will it work on Windows Server Editions??

Any advice on this build would be greatly appreciated..

Thanks in advance.

--Makko
Old 10-02-2010, 03:49 PM
Sage Aficionado