SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Old 06-07-2004, 11:27 AM
Sage User

Blackbird In, Nvidia 5200 out

I am new to HTPC, so please bear with me. (Hope I am using the term correctly). I recently purcahse the SageTV bundle, video capture and SageTV 2.0.

I understand that Blackbird has a MPEG 2 encoder, which lessen the amount of CPU usage (uses about 10% avg.) Currently I am using my onboard graphics for play back and it uses 45-50% of my CPU. So I decided to purchase a Nvidia 5200 AGP card with DVI out. According to the spec it has a MPEG 2 decode.

My question is, will the MPEG 2 decode on the nvidia decrease my CPU usage? Is MPEG 2 encode and decode universal or do different manufacture create their own implementation of MPEG 2?

I want to hear what more experience people have to say before I open my video card box. Hate to pay the 15% open box fee if I have to return it.

Thanks
Old 06-07-2004, 11:43 AM
Sage Advanced User

the video card doesnt have hardware mpeg decoding, it only has hardware accelerated decoding. and would only work if you used vmr, as that uses the video card to display the stream rather then softwrae (such as overlay).

yes it will lower your cpu usage, might not be a lot though. it would depend on the codec you are using also. i have a friend who uses sage, with sonic decoders, and uses 2-5% cpu while watching tv.
Old 06-07-2004, 12:05 PM
SageTVaholic

Yeah it should reduce your CPU usage to under 30 %
yes nvidia and ATI both are liars it only does assisted decoding
mine CPU is about 15 %
if you watch a DVD you are doing the same thing so just watch a DVD on friends computer with similiar processor and video card and you should know what it will be like
2-5% huh wow thats low