SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Old 09-26-2012, 11:11 AM
Sage User

Another esxi unraid thread - questions

I’m new to esxi (as in reading not doing) and wanted some input on the best approach for Sage. I have the general sense of how it all works. I'm also debating adding unraid to the mix after reading posts here and this limetech post.

My general setup:
AMD supported MB and CPU.
8GB RAM
6 Sata drives directly attached to MB (no raid, JBOD). Will upgrade and/or add more drives later.
All of the drives not used for Guest OS’s will be used for Sage media.
Sage 7 Guest OS will be Win7. Will prob have 3, maybe 4 guest OS.
3 HD300, 2 HD200 extenders
Option 1:
Load Esxi and configure 1-3 drives as datastores for the guest OS’s. The remaining drives would be attached directly to the Sage Guest OS. This is where I have some uncertainty. It seems like it is possible to connect drives through something like RDM or virtualhost but I’m not sure.
1. Within esxi, can I dedicate an NTFS drive to a guest OS and mount it in the guest OS?
2. It seems that I may need to have another sata controller for the NTFS drives.
Option 2:
Same as above, but instead I would use unraid for the remaining drives that would store my media.
1. I think I would still need another SATA controller for the drives for unraid.
2. Do I need a second NIC for unraid to use? Some of the articles mention a passthrough, but not sure if this is done virtually through esxi or if I need hardware.
3. Are you running esxi and unraid from a thumb drive?
Any advice is much appreciated.
Old 09-26-2012, 01:52 PM
Sage Aficionado

Quote: