SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Old 06-22-2004, 09:11 PM
Sage Aficionado

.NET vs. Java

I'm a programmer at my day job... Mostly C# and PHP recently.

I've seen some really bad Java programs in the last few years.. You know the kind -- memory hogs that run really slow, even on a 2.4 Gig Xeon dual processor server with 4 Gigs of RAM...

I honestly thought that Java was the problem, but here I am running a Java PVR app that runs great on an old P3 machine. Perhaps it was simply the Java programmers that were the problem in so many cases that I've seen in the past.

Not to put anyone down, but I just tried out the latest beta version of a competitor's PVR product which appears to be mostly .NET based now.. (The latest release version isn't, but the new beta is...) Well, it now requires about 100 MB more RAM (from what I've read) than previously, and is such a lumbering beast that I can't see running it on my P3-733 w/ 256 MB of ram... Their app has a web interface, but I was viewing Live TV and attempting to use the web interface at the same time to update some settings.. Well, audio kept working, but video halted for about 10 seconds or so when bringing a page up.

I'm not sure if they are just new to .NET and aren't that good at it yet, or what...

Anyhow - Just thought I would give some credit to the Frey guys... I used to be very anti-Java and pro-.NET... I may just have to reverse that decision...

Paul
Old 06-22-2004, 09:23 PM
Administrator