SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Linux > SageTV for unRAID/Docker
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV for unRAID/Docker Discussion related to SageTV for unRAID/Docker. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to SageTV for unRAID/Docker should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-10-2016, 05:35 PM
benjamintm benjamintm is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 165
SageTV Docker on macOS

Hi all,
I'm playing around with the SageTV Docker image on macOS. I've gotten stuckless' SageTV Server container running and everything appears to be working. The directories I mapped are now populated by various SageTV files.

That said, I can't connect to the server with either the SageTV placeshifter client on Linux or through my HD300. In both cases, the server doesn't show up on list of available servers on my network, though my Windows 10 SageTV version does. Not sure if it's the Docker container or something with macOS.

I've attached the Docker log for review.

Thoughts?

Thanks,
Ben
Attached Files
File Type: zip log.txt.zip (21.7 KB, 203 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-10-2016, 09:32 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,713
Quote:
Originally Posted by benjamintm View Post
Hi all,
I'm playing around with the SageTV Docker image on macOS. I've gotten stuckless' SageTV Server container running and everything appears to be working. The directories I mapped are now populated by various SageTV files.

That said, I can't connect to the server with either the SageTV placeshifter client on Linux or through my HD300. In both cases, the server doesn't show up on list of available servers on my network, though my Windows 10 SageTV version does. Not sure if it's the Docker container or something with macOS.

I've attached the Docker log for review.

Thoughts?

Thanks,
Ben
Could you post the command you are using start the docker container?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-10-2016, 10:33 PM
benjamintm benjamintm is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 165
Here it is:
Code:
docker run -d --name sagetv-server \
  -v /Users/ben/Documents/SageTV/sagemedia:/var/media \
  -v /Users/ben/Documents/SageTV/mediaext:/var/mediaext \
  -v /Users/ben/Documents/SageTV/apps/sagetv3:/opt/sagetv \
  -v /Users/ben/Documents/SageTV/:/unraid \
  --net host \
  --env PUID=1000 \
  --env PGID=1000 \
  --env VIDEO_GUID=19 \
  --env OPT_GENTUNER=Y \
  --env OPT_COMMANDIR=Y \
  --env OPT_COMSKIP=Y \
  --env JAVA_MEM_MB=768 \
  --env VERSION=latest \
  --env OPT_SETPERMS=Y \
  --privileged \
  -t -i stuckless/sagetv-server-java8

Last edited by benjamintm; 12-10-2016 at 11:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-10-2016, 11:03 PM
benjamintm benjamintm is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 165
Might be something to do with how Docker is handling the --net option:
https://forums.docker.com/t/should-d...-work/14215/11
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-10-2016, 11:57 PM
benjamintm benjamintm is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 165
Yep, seems like Docker for Mac doesn't offer an option to connect to the containers:
https://docs.docker.com/docker-for-mac/networking/
---
There is no docker0 bridge on macOS

Because of the way networking is implemented in Docker for Mac, you cannot see a docker0 interface in macOS. This interface is actually within HyperKit.

I cannot ping my containers
Unfortunately, due to limitations in macOS, we’re unable to route traffic to containers, and from containers back to the host.
---

I'll have to play around a bit more with port mapping to see if that works, but I haven't had much success yet. The ports I've identified for the SageTV container are: 16867, 16881, 31099, 31100, 42024, 7818, 8080, 8270. Are there others?

Thanks,
Ben
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-11-2016, 05:23 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,713
Quote:
Originally Posted by benjamintm View Post
Yep, seems like Docker for Mac doesn't offer an option to connect to the containers:
https://docs.docker.com/docker-for-mac/networking/
---
There is no docker0 bridge on macOS

Because of the way networking is implemented in Docker for Mac, you cannot see a docker0 interface in macOS. This interface is actually within HyperKit.

I cannot ping my containers
Unfortunately, due to limitations in macOS, we’re unable to route traffic to containers, and from containers back to the host.
---

I'll have to play around a bit more with port mapping to see if that works, but I haven't had much success yet. The ports I've identified for the SageTV container are: 16867, 16881, 31099, 31100, 42024, 7818, 8080, 8270. Are there others?

Thanks,
Ben
Sounds like you got a lot figured out over night

Those are the ports, but, after forwarding them, your docker instance might end up thinking your clients are actually "remote" and it might treat them like a placeshifter. I'm not sure if there is a way to tells sagetv that it knows about multiple networks.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-11-2016, 07:41 AM
bcjenkins bcjenkins is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,764
There is a setting within the Sage properties file which controls the amount of bandwidth considered for local connections. I don't recall what it is off the top.

Separately, there is a freely available VM solution on the Mac which uses the native hypervisor called Veertu. Maybe not ideal, but you could run a lightweight Linux VM to run the server within.
__________________
Running SageTV on unRAID via Docker
Tuning handled by HDHR3-6CC-3X2 using OpenDCT
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-11-2016, 02:48 PM
benjamintm benjamintm is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 165
@stuckless - I don't like when I can't figure out a problem :-). I might just move to a Linux Docker solution instead. Really want to try unRAID though :-).

@bcjenkins - Thanks, I hadn't heard of Veertu, though it apparently has the same issue with bridging networks that Docker does: https://veertu.com/knowledgebase/con...local-network/

Thanks,
Ben

Last edited by benjamintm; 12-11-2016 at 02:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-12-2016, 07:29 AM
bcjenkins bcjenkins is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,764
I use Veertu on my Mac and it has bridging.

https://veertu.com/knowledgebase/bri...eertu-desktop/

You have to create a bridge in the Manage Virtual Interfaces Menu within the Network Prefpane.
__________________
Running SageTV on unRAID via Docker
Tuning handled by HDHR3-6CC-3X2 using OpenDCT
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SageTV Docker LIRC/FireWire issues Tomahawk51 SageTV for unRAID/Docker 19 01-30-2017 07:23 PM
SageTV Server Linux with Comskip for Docker (and unRAID) Support Thread stuckless SageTV for unRAID/Docker 409 10-10-2016 07:22 AM
SageTV Docker/unRAID now has a sub-forum stuckless SageTV for unRAID/Docker 0 10-10-2016 07:20 AM
Interactive Docker Container for building SageTV (Linux) stuckless SageTV Github Development 4 09-04-2016 03:14 PM
SageTV for MacOS X? Taddeusz SageTV Software 31 06-08-2005 03:34 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.