SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Linux
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Linux Discussion related to the SageTV Media Center for Linux. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV Linux should be posted here.

Old 01-05-2017, 05:40 PM
SageTVaholic

Linux pre-build questions

I am thinking about building a Linux server, at least on old hardware as a test platform to try it out. A few questions - my starting point is that I have dabbled in *nix for about 20 years from Sun Solaris to Ubuntu to RPis, but I am most familiar with Ubuntu and Raspbian Jessie/Wheezy, however I am by no means an expert.

What flavour of Linux should I use?
If Ubuntu what version? 14.04 LTS? 16.04 LTS?
Any reason not to use 64 bit?
I see a thread about USB-UIRT using LIRC so I guess I can use this for channel changing?
Is firewire channel changing an option?
What is the status of HD-PVRs under Linux?
Does the Jetty webserver run properly on Linux?
Is there anything that wouldn't work on Linux that I am used to on my Windows 7 installs?
Old 01-06-2017, 06:43 AM
SageTVaholic

Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
I am thinking about building a Linux server, at least on old hardware as a test platform to try it out. A few questions - my starting point is that I have dabbled in *nix for about 20 years from Sun Solaris to Ubuntu to RPis, but I am most familiar with Ubuntu and Raspbian Jessie/Wheezy, however I am by no means an expert.

What flavour of Linux should I use?
If Ubuntu what version? 14.04 LTS? 16.04 LTS?
Any reason not to use 64 bit?
I see a thread about USB-UIRT using LIRC so I guess I can use this for channel changing?
Is firewire channel changing an option?
What is the status of HD-PVRs under Linux?
Does the Jetty webserver run properly on Linux?
Is there anything that wouldn't work on Linux that I am used to on my Windows 7 installs?