SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Github Development
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Github Development Discussion related to SageTV Open Source Development. Use this forum for development topics about the Open Source versions of SageTV, hosted on Github.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-14-2017, 01:34 AM
Jabroni's Avatar
Jabroni Jabroni is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 251
SageClient Server Discovery Issues

Wondering if someone could comment on what else should I do. Im trying to figure out why my SageTV Client wont autopopulate the server info on my desktop when launching the client.

SageTV Server runs on a Win8 VM (9.0.12)
SageTV Client 9 on Windows 10

- Both machines have the Windows Firewall Disabled
- Both machines show the network as "Private" within windows.
- Tried running the SageClient as 'Run as administrator'
- Both machines are within the same subnet, with static ips
- If I try from my Laptop, the SageClient does seem to populate fine the Server Discovery
- Tried removing / reinstalling the SageClient
- Placeshifter does discovery the server correctly on load
- On my client machine, running Wireshark for network sniffing, I see a UDP broadcast on 8270, then a reply from my SageTV IP to my Desktop IP on port 8271 with a text someting like "STV ServerName"
- On the Sagetvclient_0.txt I see the entry
Code:
Mon 2/13 23:23:51.197 [main@74cd4d] SageTV V9.0.13.536
Mon 2/13 23:23:51.204 [main@74cd4d] hostname=DESKTOP
Mon 2/13 23:23:51.207 [main@74cd4d] Splash: Discovering SageTV Servers...
Mon 2/13 23:23:51.212 [main@74cd4d] Sending out discovery packets to find SageTV Servers...
Mon 2/13 23:23:51.229 [main@74cd4d] Discovery packet received:java.net.DatagramPacket@6824be from /192.168.1.4:8270
Mon 2/13 23:23:51.232 [main@74cd4d] Server info 9.0.12
However it stills just load a blank form to fill with IP, if i input the IP it connects fine

Hope someone can give me some more ideas on what else Im missing to try
__________________
SageTV 7.1.9 / Phoenix
Captures: 1x Genpix Skywalker DVB4Sage / 1x 7500 Prof DVBS2 Tunner DVB4Sage / 1x HD HomeRun / 1x Slingbox M1 / 1x Colossus HD
Extender: 2x HD200 / 1x HD300


Last edited by Jabroni; 02-14-2017 at 01:44 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-14-2017, 08:16 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Versions don't match. Server and Client versions need to match for it to consider it a valid target. (specificly, it is checked here: https://github.com/google/sagetv/blo...ient.java#L936)

It seems like it might be wise to add an else statement to that line to debug that it was ignored due to a version mismatch.

EDIT: Technically, versions don't have to match, but the server has to be equal or newer than the client. In your case, the opposite is true (running 9.0.12 server with a 9.0.13 client).
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room

Last edited by Fuzzy; 02-14-2017 at 08:19 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-14-2017, 10:33 AM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,657
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
EDIT: Technically, versions don't have to match, but the server has to be equal or newer than the client. In your case, the opposite is true (running 9.0.12 server with a 9.0.13 client).
Don't count on that. I experience problems when I was testing the database upgrade that I was writing for 9.0.13. I was testing with a remote client they needed to match or I got strange errors that broke things for that client session badly while it was syncing from the database. The placeshifter/miniclient is the only time it generally doesn't matter. There's a good reason why the versions are enforced for the client.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-14-2017, 11:12 AM
Jabroni's Avatar
Jabroni Jabroni is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 251
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
Versions don't match. Server and Client versions need to match for it to consider it a valid target. (specificly, it is checked here: https://github.com/google/sagetv/blo...ient.java#L936)

It seems like it might be wise to add an else statement to that line to debug that it was ignored due to a version mismatch.

EDIT: Technically, versions don't have to match, but the server has to be equal or newer than the client. In your case, the opposite is true (running 9.0.12 server with a 9.0.13 client).
Thank you for the comment. I can confirm that was the issue. I upgraded the SageTV server jar and now the client discovers fine the server I knew it has something to do within Sage rather than issue with firewall or network (since all previous threads always pointed to that direction). The only good thing bout this is that I discovered that there is a autoconnect_server_hostname= on the SageClient.properties file that can do the trick too and connects faster since it doesnt need to discover the server
__________________
SageTV 7.1.9 / Phoenix
Captures: 1x Genpix Skywalker DVB4Sage / 1x 7500 Prof DVBS2 Tunner DVB4Sage / 1x HD HomeRun / 1x Slingbox M1 / 1x Colossus HD
Extender: 2x HD200 / 1x HD300

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-14-2017, 05:44 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnterNoEscape View Post
Don't count on that. I experience problems when I was testing the database upgrade that I was writing for 9.0.13. I was testing with a remote client they needed to match or I got strange errors that broke things for that client session badly while it was syncing from the database. The placeshifter/miniclient is the only time it generally doesn't matter. There's a good reason why the versions are enforced for the client.
Sorry, I wasn't trying to imply that mismatches would "work" - just that it only checks that the server is newer than the client before presenting that server as an option.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-14-2017, 06:24 PM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,657
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
Sorry, I wasn't trying to imply that mismatches would "work" - just that it only checks that the server is newer than the client before presenting that server as an option.
Gotcha. That is truish. It actually checks the minimum client version on the server (not the server version).
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG

Last edited by EnterNoEscape; 02-14-2017 at 06:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-14-2017, 06:42 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnterNoEscape View Post
Gotcha. That is truish. It actually checks the minimum client version on the server (not the server version).
It's sort of a two way street. The client broadcasts out on the network with it's actual version (in his case above, 9.0.13) (this is in NetworkClient.java). The server receives the broadcast packet and checks that the client version is >= the CLIENT_COMPATIBLE version that is coded into the server (as set in Sage.java). The server then sends back a packet with the server's actual version - among other things, like port, hostname, etc (this is in SageTV.java), which the client (back in NetworkClient.java) verifies is greater than or equal to it's own version before adding it to the list of servers and allowing the user to connect to it.

This essentially means that the only combination that will work is:
SERVER >= CLIENT >= CLIENT_COMPATIBLE

Which is fine, as long as CLIENT_COMPATIBLE is always updated when a change to either the database, or the client-server architecture warrants it. Currently, the CLIENT_COMPATIBLE in the 9.0.13 server is set to 9.0.13. That doesn't NEED to always be the case though, and if we are changing code that doesn't touch the things I listed, it would make sense to not match those, so the server can be upgraded without needing to upgrade every client (this is the main reason there IS a CLIENT_COMPATIBLE version. It would certainly me nice is we could implement some sort of notice when a version incompatibility is preventing connection, especially not that the unRAID Docker server will automatically update on restarts.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-14-2017, 07:31 PM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,657
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
It would certainly me nice is we could implement some sort of notice when a version incompatibility is preventing connection, especially not that the unRAID Docker server will automatically update on restarts.
If you explicitly type in the server name and try to connect with the full client, it will tell you that the versions are incompatible.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-15-2017, 02:56 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnterNoEscape View Post
If you explicitly type in the server name and try to connect with the full client, it will tell you that the versions are incompatible.
Actually, in his case, it will connect without complaint, because THAT check is just that the CLIENT >= the CLIENT_COMPATIBLE version.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
windows 8 server discovery fails sflamm SageTV Software 2 12-17-2012 12:07 AM
Sage Server Discovery for iPhone Remote bodagetta SageTV Customizations 5 04-15-2010 12:04 AM
SageClient server communication dZeus SageTV Studio 2 01-06-2006 05:50 PM
Test for server discovery by Client Opus4 SageTV Beta Test Software 8 07-27-2005 07:39 PM
Any SageClient folks have device driver issues? IVB SageTV Software 2 12-18-2003 10:38 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.