SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV v9 Customizations
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV v9 Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV version 9 application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss plugins for SageTV version 9 and newer.

Old 02-17-2021, 08:52 AM
Sage Expert

Attempt to move to Plex

I have been testing Plex for a few months now and have come to this conclusion that the DVR functionality is not ready for Primetime.

I only started looking at Plex because of all the Clients it supports. That support is pretty good, light years ahead of our Sagetv client support.

But I think I have found a way to combine the two to get the best of both worlds. I will keep Sagetv for its DVR functionality and setup Plex for playback of the SageTV recorded shows on its plethora of current clients.

That seems to work fine. Just make the Plex TV show library the same folder as the SageTV recording folders.

The one thing I do miss with this setup is Plex cannot use a photo library when paused. You have to manually start the photo gallery.

All in, Plex is still missing an amazing amount of DVR functionality that SageTV already had back in 2005 and I personally use constantly. My conclusion is their DVR functions are an afterthought, not really part of their design goals.

Hats off to Narflex! -Bill
Old 02-17-2021, 03:52 PM
SageTVaholic