SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Old 12-04-2004, 06:28 PM
Sage User

Unhappy Frustrated! Poor Live TV quality (newbie)

Hi everyone,

I know this is long, but it'd be great if the experienced users out there could give it a read and offer me some advice. I wanted to give a complete description of my problem so I could get the best advice.

I'm new to the HTPC game, but I'm pretty knowledgable when it comes to computers in general. Unfortunately, I feel I've reached the limits of that knowledge.

My problems is with Live TV (not just in Sage, but in all the PVR programs I have: Windows MCE 2005 and WinTV2000). By quickly flipping back and forth between my HTPC and regular cable inputs I've narrowed it down to two issues:

1. Sharpness: My HTPC image is blurry and soft. It's a subtle effect which you can't really notice just watching the HTPC signal by itself, but compared to my regular cable signal, it's pretty obvious.

2. Depth: I guess you could call it "colour depth". I have a great flat-screen tube T.V. and the image has always had great "depth". The colours have been strong and vibrant and on good channels it almost seems "3D". This effect completely disappears when my HTPC is in the loop. Colours are washed out. especially blacks, which I think is the reason for the loss of "depth".

So, I know you can't help me until I tell you a bit about my rig. Here goes:

AMD XP 2400+
512 MB RAM
7200 RPM HD
MSI nVidia GeForece Ti4200
WinTV PVR-150
27" Toshiba Flat-Scren (tube/CRT) T.V.
S-Video Link
Cable signal split to two difference sources (that's how I tested this)