SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Old 01-03-2005, 12:53 PM
Sage Icon

UNC paths and mapped drives??

Hi all, in a few weeks I am moving into a new house and will be setting up a wired network with sagetv and only 1 client. I currently have a shuttle running sagetv with 2 HD's crammed in with no client. To eliminate some of the heat, i was thinking of just taking one out and putting it in my client machine. This is my first time setting up/using a wired network as well. Would I just need to map the drive in my client machine then add that mapped drive to the video import section? I have read in other threads to use UNC paths (which I don't even know what they are) to save headaches later. One more thing to note, in a little while I will probably be adding another tuner to the client machine and will need to purchase sagerecorder to go along with that (didn't know if that matters with having me either map the drives or use UNC...).

-also, if i just take out one of my drives in the shuttle that has most of my sage recordings on it and move it to my client---will all the information still be there and accessible?
Thanks
JUC

Last edited by JUC; 01-03-2005 at 12:55 PM. Reason: clarity
Old 01-03-2005, 01:16 PM
Administrator

Quote:
Originally Posted by JUC
Would I just need to map the drive in my client machine then add that mapped drive to the video import section? I have read in other threads to use UNC paths (which I don't even know what they are) to save headaches later.
I would use UNC paths, as they will work with the SageTV service, if you decide to use that. Page 15 of the v2.1 manual comments a very short blurb on UNC paths; essentially you share the drive/dir & use: \\computer's network name\share name\directory name as the path.