SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Old 01-03-2006, 01:14 PM

"Getting feet wet..." Q's

Hello,

We have a HDTV in our living room with a cable DVR. Most of our TV watching occurs in this room. Nice setup, easy to use, works well but a bit pricey....

I'm interested in trying SageTV on my computer and saving the occasional program to the hard drive. Computer specs:

p4 2.4 Ghz, 768 MB RDRAM, 120 GB HD, ATI 9800 pro VC, XP pro
4 available USB ports for expansion HD space

Which bundle do you recommend to get started?
(I'm leaning toward the Plextor ConvertX PX-TV100U)

Will I need a remote to access the digital channels (300's and 400's)?

I'm a dairy scientist, not a computer guru... Will this operate pretty much as a plug and play device?

Thanks!

Rick
Old 01-03-2006, 02:18 PM
Administrator

I would consider one of the Hauppauge cards for SDTV recording; they seem to work best for most people. If you want to record in HD, then you should check out the digital cards for OTA or see if your cable box can be used with the firewire recording plugin in the hardware forum section.

If you connect a tuner to your cable box, then you will need to have some way for SageTV to tell it to change channels. Often, this is done with something like the USB-UIRT, but if your box can be controlled via a serail cable or firewire, the channel changes would most likely have fewer misses. (I don't know how often IR channel changes miss, though.)

- Andy
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Old 01-03-2006, 02:55 PM
Sage Fanatic