SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Old 03-31-2003, 03:03 PM
Sage User

SageTV vs SnapStream

Being a TiVO customer, I have a good idea of what I want in the product to run on my new PC. SageTV seems to be the thing, from what I've been reading in the forums and from the radio interview I just listened to.

I have a couple of concerns though: First, Frey Technologies is relatively young. I'm a risk-taker, so that doesn't bother me as much as the stability of the product. I also write software for a living, so I'm well-aware of the importance of testing. How long was the official release tested?

Second, Snapstream Media seems like the closest competitor. They also have a couple of releases under their belts. How does SageTV and its service compare?
Old 03-31-2003, 03:44 PM
Sage Fanatic

To answer your first question, the beta process that I was involved in lasted almost 7 months. Jeff and Dan have been writing/testing the software for 2 or three years now. Correct me if I didn't get the second number right, Jeff.

As how it compares to snapstream...I played with a demo of snapstream 8 or 9 months ago, and wasn't impressed. But that was before I had my hardware encoding mpeg2 cards. Haven't looked at it since, as SageTV does everytthing that I want it to do. And if I come up with something else that I want it to do, Jeff listens really well and it's usually not 6 months or a year before I see it.
Old 03-31-2003, 03:49 PM
SageTV Co-Founder

Peter,