SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Old 11-09-2006, 10:11 AM
SageTVaholic

Fios TV and Sage

Can anyone comment on the SageTV integration of FIOS tv? Do the boxes they use support the serial connections for tuning? Has anyone tried a QAM tuner with fios? HD Homerun preferred.

TIA

B
Old 11-09-2006, 07:53 PM
Sage Aficionado

I have been using FIOS TV for about 3 months now (I think). From all my knowledge the serial port on the STB is disabled and wont be turned on anytime soon. I am using a UIRT. So far so good. No major problems. I've never tried QAM with it. I use OTA for HD. Any other info you need let me know.
Old 11-10-2006, 01:00 AM
SageTVaholic

How many set top boxes do you run? I am thinking I might need 4. Can Sage handle that?

B
Old 11-10-2006, 10:28 AM
Sage Aficionado

I am currently only running 1 STB and I split the signal so that I have another card capturing analog. Only the locals are rebroadcasted in analog, so I dont have all the extra channels. I am planning on adding more boxes in the future but I cant think there would be a problem with sage using 4. The only issue I would see is getting the uirt to control all of them.

There is one aspect that I havent seen anybody touch yet. All of the STBs are networked together using your coax. This is bridged to your network through your router. (This is required to get your EPG data) They all get IPs from your router starting at 192.168.0.50 through 100. I've tried a couple of port scans but couldnt see anything open. I am not sure if there is a way to change the channels via network, I am not a networking person and I dont have the time to experiment. But it might work. Let me know what other questions you have.

Last edited by mattdcknsn; 11-10-2006 at 10:30 AM.