SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Old 06-20-2008, 01:59 PM

Recommendations for new Sage Build using Directv with HR20 DVR?

This is my first post and I'm a Sage newb but I've been trolling for a few days and know just enough to be very dangerous. So I wanted to ask a few questions before I started burning a hole through my Visa card.

Entertainment comes into the house via a 5LNB DTV dish with an HR20 HDVR and 2 SDTV STBs. My wife is insistent I keep the DVR in any new entertainment configuration b/c it's the only way she gets onDemand via Directv (and one of the chief reasons she wants us to convert back after our contract elapses). If I want to push SageTV to 5 displays (2 hd and 3 sd) and the server will run headless I anticipate having to purchase the following items. Please correct me if I'm wrong.

1) A fairly beefy quad core multi-gigabytes of RAM box with at least 1TB of local, fast storage in some sort of fault tolerant configuration.
2) A gigabit network backbone
3) 2 HD extenders and 3 SD
4) At least 2 HDPVRs to capture HD signals--one for HR20 and
5) a second HD STB from DTV
6) 3 analog capture devices to grab signals from the two analog STBs
7) Patterson software for controlling STBs
8) 2 USBUIRTs to control 5 STBs
9) A dump truck of cash to pull this off
10) A lot of time to configure and deploy
11) An extra bedroom to avoid my wife's wrath if it all comes tumbling down

With the exceptions of the final 3 items, how's my list so far?