SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Old 08-29-2008, 10:28 AM
Sage User

Sage just isn't working out for me..

I want it to work. I love the idea. I'm set up for it. But it's just not working.

I live in Ireland. I have a Sky TV Subscription. I have a Dual 3.0GHz Xeon Server running MS Server 2003. It has a Hauppage capture card taking composite feed and stereo audio from Sky digibox.

I have Sage installed on the server and a HD100 in my living room. Server and extender are connected via gibabit ethernet. Extender is connected to sony TV via HDMI. Server switches channel via USB-UIRT.

I have installed and reinstalled software, server etc. The following are my general issues;

-There is no provided EPG with the system. I must set up third party utilities to download program guides from tvtimes. This is an obtuse process (I'm a software engineer).

-The picture quality at my TV is sub-standard. Watchable, for sure but much poorer than the RF feed from my digibox. Camera panning is poor. Crawling text on screen is awful. General frame rate seems off.

-There are significant audio sync issues that I have never managed to get to the bottom of. Sync will vary by channel adn often witin a channel by content (programme vs. commercials).

I've asked the questions. I've tweaked the software. I'm just not happy. I'm not looking for help here, I'm just stating my experience. I'm on the verge of giving up on Sage.