SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-02-2008, 03:34 PM
tvconfuse tvconfuse is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 17
HD PVR to record Blue ray movies...bad idea

I was thinking about how cool it would be to copy blue ray movies using the HD PVR for backup until i realized that the bitrates for the movies are so much higher than what HD PVR can do. There would be a huge PQ difference.

ex, Hellboy on blue ray is using 26 mbs AVC just for the video, the complete video file size with no audio is 39,451,699,200.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-02-2008, 03:45 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,188
Yeah, there are much better ways. Why record when you can rip directly.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-02-2008, 03:46 PM
dvd_maniac's Avatar
dvd_maniac dvd_maniac is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: New England
Posts: 1,899
Have you tried this yet?
I bet a lot of the bitrate used on Blu-Ray is overkill anyways.
However, I think you would get a better PQ if you just ripped the Blu-Ray to HHD and then used an encoding program to re-encode it using a lower bitrate.
__________________
If this doesn't work right, Then:
"I'm going to blow up the Earth!"
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-02-2008, 03:54 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,188
Though if you wanted to shrink it, the HD PVR would be about 10x faster (literally), and given the quality I've seen from the HD PVR, I bet it would be really close.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-02-2008, 05:22 PM
Chriscic Chriscic is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 729
There's huge diminishing returns on bit-rate. I bet the resulting file would look pretty darn good with only very minimal quality loss.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-02-2008, 06:20 PM
jrog's Avatar
jrog jrog is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 172
This was my original intent, what with the various codecs and issues related to all the different Blu-Ray formats and encryption methods, but now I'm using them to capture HD from the Comcast box exclusively. Is there a good way to use a switch and swap between the box and the blu-ray when I want to archive something, or do I really need to dedicate a tuner? Also thinking about doing it to get all my HD-DVD movies off that dead format.

Another advantage of that would be centralized Blu-ray support on my extenders without having to get more than one blu-ray player.
__________________
SageTV Server - Q6600, 2GB Ram, 2x 750GB recording, HDHomerun 2xQAM, PVR-USB2, 2x HD-PVR, USB-UIRT controller 2 HD boxes and one SD box

3x HD100 HD Extenders
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-02-2008, 06:54 PM
killervette killervette is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 184
i rip mine. plays fine on the hd100 extender. no quality loss since there is no encoding. i have about 10-12 blurays on the server right now
__________________
Rack Server: WHS Intel Quad Core, 3GB RAM, 3 HD PVRs, 4.5TB Storage and growing.
Rack Server: Dual Core 2.0Ghz, 320GB - Home Automation/Security/SQL Server
Client 1: HD Extender on 42" Samsung 1080P LCD and 92" Epson 1080p Projector.
Gaming Rig:Q6600 Quad O/C to 2.8ghz, 4GB DDR2 1066 RAM, Geforce 8600GTS
Misc: Onkyo TX-SR705 Receiver, Netgear Pro Safe 16port Gig Switch, Cat6 cabling, Linksys WRT54G running tomato firmware
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-02-2008, 07:01 PM
tvconfuse tvconfuse is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 17
well the problem is I don't have a blue-ray burner yet as their still too expensive. And the for the blue-ray readers, they are a bit slow, I think they're at 8x so it will still take some time to rip. I want to wait till the readers are at least 12x. And of course the blue ray discs are nearly as expensive as a blue-ray movie.

Besides I had enough in my budget for only one item lol, blue-ray or the HD PVR. Since i had the sony ps3 I choose the HD PVR
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-02-2008, 07:48 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvconfuse View Post
well the problem is I don't have a blue-ray burner yet as their still too expensive. And the for the blue-ray readers, they are a bit slow, I think they're at 8x so it will still take some time to rip.
That's like 15 minutes to rip it

Quote:
I want to wait till the readers are at least 12x.
Why, rather record it at 1x?

Quote:
And of course the blue ray discs are nearly as expensive as a blue-ray movie.
So? What's that have to do with ripping?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-03-2008, 04:54 AM
killervette killervette is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 184
i use the ps3 to rip. saves me from have to get a bluray drive
__________________
Rack Server: WHS Intel Quad Core, 3GB RAM, 3 HD PVRs, 4.5TB Storage and growing.
Rack Server: Dual Core 2.0Ghz, 320GB - Home Automation/Security/SQL Server
Client 1: HD Extender on 42" Samsung 1080P LCD and 92" Epson 1080p Projector.
Gaming Rig:Q6600 Quad O/C to 2.8ghz, 4GB DDR2 1066 RAM, Geforce 8600GTS
Misc: Onkyo TX-SR705 Receiver, Netgear Pro Safe 16port Gig Switch, Cat6 cabling, Linksys WRT54G running tomato firmware
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-03-2008, 07:46 AM
SWKerr SWKerr is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,178
You can trim out the extra languages from a ripped blu-ray m2ts file and get an average size of only about 20-25gb for an average movie. They will play fine over the SageTV client and I have heard they play well on the extender as well. They really donít take long to rip.

I actually want to save some space in my movie library and also play them on my Xbox360 so I re-encode to them to h.264 with MeGUI. I resize the things to 1280x720 since on my 42-50Ē sets I can not really tell the difference. I use a bitrate of about 4000, sometimes less since the Xbox360 will not play an Mp4 bigger than 4gb. They always look great and can fit on a DVD. The moves seem to take about 12 hours to compress on dual core AMD X2.

I actually have a problem playing the Mp4 on SageTV but if I just put it in a Mkv container with the same video and sound file it will play fine. (would love for someone to explain this one.)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-03-2008, 08:00 AM
tvconfuse tvconfuse is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 17
I would rip it in my ps3 also but my ps3 is only 40 gigs (bday gift) and I not ready to install linux onto the ps3 (or how to for that matter)

Quote:
Originally Posted by killervette View Post
i use the ps3 to rip. saves me from have to get a bluray drive
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-03-2008, 08:17 AM
killervette killervette is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 184
mine is a 40gb too. i have considered getting a 120gb to put in it. But i dont have that many demos downloaded and have nothing else on it.
__________________
Rack Server: WHS Intel Quad Core, 3GB RAM, 3 HD PVRs, 4.5TB Storage and growing.
Rack Server: Dual Core 2.0Ghz, 320GB - Home Automation/Security/SQL Server
Client 1: HD Extender on 42" Samsung 1080P LCD and 92" Epson 1080p Projector.
Gaming Rig:Q6600 Quad O/C to 2.8ghz, 4GB DDR2 1066 RAM, Geforce 8600GTS
Misc: Onkyo TX-SR705 Receiver, Netgear Pro Safe 16port Gig Switch, Cat6 cabling, Linksys WRT54G running tomato firmware
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Record HD when available for favorites dinki SageTV Software 13 03-09-2009 12:53 PM
Connecting HD PVR to computer johnwmreed Hardware Support 9 08-01-2008 08:40 AM
Record *both* HD and SD version of a favourite? Lester Jacobs SageTV Software 13 06-11-2008 01:45 PM
AUUUGH I Give UP!!! TripleTapper SageTV Media Extender 46 01-03-2006 02:35 PM
PVR 500 MCE Rebooting PC jptaz Hardware Support 30 01-07-2005 01:44 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.