SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Studio
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Studio Discussion related to the SageTV Studio application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the Studio software application should be posted here.

Old 02-26-2009, 01:38 PM
Sage Advanced User

Beginning Java tutorial

Okay, so I recently went through the process of learning enough Java to do a bit of utility processing. I'm an experienced programmer, but had never touched java, and finding all the bits necessary to make this work was much more painful than actually writing the java code for me. Thus, I figured I'd write up a tutorial on going from scratch, to having a function which can be called from SageTV in a .jar file. This tutorial is intended for someone who is familiar with programming, but not with java. As I'm entirely new to java, I may have missed bits, in which case I'd welcome corrections.

This tutorial assumes only using the java JDK command-line tools. The tools involved are "javac" (the java compiler) and "jar" (assembles .jar files). You'll also need a text editor.

A few background bits-

You will write your code in ".java" files, javac will compile them to ".class" files, and jar will package those into ".jar" files.

If I call a routine such as mypackage.Util.GetTheme(). In the sage studio calling convention this would be mypackage_Util_GetTheme(). There are several parts to what is being called. "mypackage" is the name of the package, "Util" is the name of the class, and "GetTheme" is the name of the method.

Translating this to the bits necessary to arrive there-
1. Someone created a file named "Util.java", which contained the code defining the class "Util", and the class method "GetTheme".
2. The first line of the java file was "package sagemc;"