SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Old 03-31-2009, 02:26 PM

Newbie ready to buy everything with questions

Hi,

I am ready to take the Sage plunge. I am a total newbie so be easy please. I want a whole house set-up and I am not sure what to buy. I do not know what will work best in my situation. I want the latest that Sage has avail. I have copied a list of questions that I found in another post that should give a good idea of what I am trying to do. Any suggestions on what to buy will be greatly appreciated .

Displays
--------------
- How many TVs do you have? 3 HDTV's I would like to view in 1080i or 1080p

- From how many of them do you want to watch TV, videos, view photos, or listen to music? All

- Do you have a computer in any of the rooms with the TVs? no I have 3 laptops. I really don't want to hook them up to the tv. Does Sage make a box that does not require a computer?

- If so, would you be willing to hook them up to the TV? (This might require the purchase of additional equipment.) I am willing to buy another computer just for Sage if ness.

- Do you pay for HD TV? (for recommending a HD tuner or not) Right now I have directv (1 with dvr and 2 without). I am ready to ditch for a while and just have OTA, but I don't know if I will make it, so I would like my set-up to be capable of OTA, Directv, Dish Network or cable.

- Do you currently use VCRs or a DVR (any kind) to record TV shows and movies? Yes Directv DVR. With the Sage set-up I would like DVR capabilities on all 3 tv's.

- (If yes to the above) How often do you watch live TV? (instead of a prerecorded program) If I can set-up 3 dvr's with Sage then it will be rarely if not it will change to frequently.

- Do you watch sports often? The hubby does