SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Old 07-25-2009, 05:29 PM

hardware choices

I am pretty new to this, and have been looking at the hardware. I want to convert an old Pentium III to be my DVR. One card that I like is the Haupauge WinTV PVR-350, which has 2 analog cable channels to record with that have built in hardware MPEG2 encoders. The real thrill is that it also has a video out with a hardware decoder. This seems perfect for the computer I want to use [ lower load on the CPU ], except it does not do QAM.
OK. From the new line of cards they are now putting out, I see the HVR-1600, a PCI card [required] that has one analog, one QAM tuner, again with the MPEG2 encoders. BUT this card [ or any of their others in the new line] does not have a video out.
So, I have been looking for a display card that has an MPEG2 decoder and a TV-out. Hard to find. Does anybody know of one? There are a lot of video cards that have special graphics features. Would these have the same ability as if they had the decoder, ie would they be able to display to my TV without problems, while the haupauge card is recording?
What other alternatives are there that maybe I haven't come across?

Thanx
dc
Old 07-25-2009, 05:41 PM
SageTVaholic

if you are set on using that older pc, your best option is to get a digital tuner, like the 1600 or 2250, or HDHomeRun, and use an extender (HD-200) for playback.

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.