SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Customizations
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss customizations for SageTV version 6 and earlier, or for the SageTV3 UI.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41  
Old 09-25-2009, 04:24 PM
Mitch G Mitch G is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 323
I don't know if this is useful to anyone else, but I created a little web interface to update the feeds on demand
It's a very crappy piece of code, but it works.

Assuming you installed the zip file and xamplite as given in the first post ....

under c:/xampplite/htdocs create a file called rssupd.html
In that file put the following code:
<form action="rssupd.php" method="post">
<p>Click submit to update Netflix and Hulu RSS feeds.</p>
<p><input type="submit" /></p>
</form>

under c:/xampplite/htdocs create a file called rssupd.php
In that file put the following code:
<html>
<body>
<?php exec('c:/Playonsage/run.bat'); ?>
<p>
RSS feeds updated.
</body>
</html>

Point your browser to http://<your server IP address>/rssupd.html
Click the submit button and wait.

Note: I had to open up port 80 in windows firewall on my server for other computers to access the URL.



Mitch
  #42  
Old 09-25-2009, 04:29 PM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
This is odd. Hulu works fine but when I play Netflix videos I get video but no audio. Completely silent. Any ideas?
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
  #43  
Old 09-25-2009, 04:37 PM
simonen simonen is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Carlsbad, CA
Posts: 384
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taddeusz View Post
This is odd. Hulu works fine but when I play Netflix videos I get video but no audio. Completely silent. Any ideas?
I know that have reported this problem in the PlayOn forums, so I don't know if it is related. Is it the same problem in the extenders?
  #44  
Old 09-25-2009, 04:38 PM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by simonen View Post
I know that have reported this problem in the PlayOn forums, so I don't know if it is related. Is it the same problem in the extenders?
Yes, I had actually tried my extender first and then my client.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
  #45  
Old 09-25-2009, 05:16 PM
robogeek robogeek is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Appleton, WI USA
Posts: 568
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taddeusz View Post
This is odd. Hulu works fine but when I play Netflix videos I get video but no audio. Completely silent. Any ideas?
I get NetFlix audio on my MediaMVP extender, but it drifts out of sync with the video fairly quickly. Hulu plays fine for the half hour episodes I tested with. I'm guessing it's a problem with the way PlayOn is encoding the NetFlix stream.
__________________
--Jason

Server Hardware: GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3R, Intel Q9550 CPU 2.83GHz, 11GB RAM, 1xHDHR, 1xHVR1600, 1xHVR2250
29TB Server Storage: 1TB SSD (OS), 1TB (data), 2x6TB+2x10TB (22TB FlexRaid storage pool), 2x2TB (recordings), 1x750GB (VMs).
Server Software: Win10 Pro x64 OS, SageTV 64bit v9.2.0.441, Java 1.8 u241, PlayOn, Comskip (Donator) v0.82.003, WampServer v2.5.
Clients: 3xHD300s, 2xHD100, 2xPlaceshifters
  #46  
Old 09-25-2009, 06:01 PM
HuMan321's Avatar
HuMan321 HuMan321 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Idaho
Posts: 365
Quote:
Originally Posted by simonen View Post
UPDATED: 09/25/09 @ 12:47AM PST

This is in it's alpha stage so there may be many changes as it evolves.

I have created a batch file and some VBscripts script that will take advantage of EvilPenguin's (upnp2podcast.exe) app. These files allow users to run a single file that will bring in the hulu and netflix users queues through PlayOn and turn them into rss feeds that they can add to SageTV and view the videos directly within the UI (server, client, extenders (HD100 and HD200) and placeshifter (even outside your network)).

Files located here: http://dl.getdropbox.com/u/2122459/Playonsage.zip

Instructions:
1.) Requires PlayOn version 2.59.3555 to be installed.
2.) Download the zip file and copy the enclosed "Playonsage" folder to your C:\ drive.
3.) Edit vbscripts (hulu and netflix) so that you replace "192.168.1.2" with your own servers IP address. I think these are only required for Windows 7 (not sure about Vista) users. If you are using XP, you likely do not need these vbscripts as it sets the right IP address (or so I have read). You can simply omit them from the "run.bat" file by editing it (edit out lines 3 and 6).
4.) I am currently using xampplite web server, so the vbscripts and run.bat file are set up to work with that. If you are using a different web server or your htdocs folder is in a different location, you will need to edit these files to your htdocs location.
5.) Running the run.bat file: I used windows task manager to execute this file every hour just to be safe. In addition I placed a shortcut to the file in my startup folder so that if I reboot, it will run the run.bat file automatically. You will need to run the run.bat file after every reboot and likely a few times a day at a minimum (not sure how often PlayOn updates their video links).

Running .bat file invisibly: If you are creating a task to run the run.bat file every few hours, you may not want to have the window pop up on your screen when it runs. Simply add "/c" argument when you set up the task and it will run invisibly. Example: c:\playonsage\run.bat /c


Note: Netflix may hang the first time you try to watch a movie and there are reports of audio sync issues (this is a PlayOn problem).
On line 4 where it says to edit location of Htdocs?
Installed Xampplite

Last edited by HuMan321; 09-25-2009 at 06:40 PM. Reason: Light Bulb Moment
  #47  
Old 09-25-2009, 07:03 PM
mayamaniac's Avatar
mayamaniac mayamaniac is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,177
Quote:
Originally Posted by HuMan321 View Post
On line 4 where it says to edit location of Htdocs?
Installed Xampplite
I think you edit the path of the run.bat and two vbs files, default path to xammplite is c:\xampplite\htdocs\. Open the files with notepad or wordpad and edit the path if you installed xampplite elsewhere, then save.
__________________
Mayamaniac

- SageTV 7.1.9 Server. Win7 32bit in VMWare Fusion. HDHR (FiOS Coax). HDHR Prime 3 Tuners (FiOS Cable Card). Gemstone theme.
- SageTV HD300 - HDMI 1080p Samsung 75" LED.
  #48  
Old 09-25-2009, 07:28 PM
HuMan321's Avatar
HuMan321 HuMan321 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Idaho
Posts: 365
Thanks. I did just leave it in the default location to simplify things.

I can put in the url to hulu on the Sageserver itself and it shows up on the server with my queue, but when I do this on the extender it does not (running under server) I typed it in manually on the extender and it still doesn't work. Is there a certain beta firmware I need to be at for this to work on the extender?

How do you address it to work directly from extender mode? I don't see any rss place to enter hulu url???

OK
Added custom online links and now have my hulu queue showing up in online videos. Next problem is that it says the video is not found on the server. I seem to remember reading about this and still wonder if I need to update my extenders from 20090702 0???

Last edited by HuMan321; 09-25-2009 at 07:57 PM. Reason: Additional Info
  #49  
Old 09-25-2009, 09:20 PM
Mitch G Mitch G is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 323
I had the same problem where after finally getting the list to show up on the extender, it couldn't find the video.
To solve it I simply re-ran the run.bat file to recreate the xml files.


Mitch
  #50  
Old 09-25-2009, 09:32 PM
Slipshod's Avatar
Slipshod Slipshod is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 474
Fun! Playon has lots of interesting feeds. I added a "Twin Peaks" channel to my RSS Feed...

Code:
 C:\playonsage\UPnP2Podcast.exe "PlayOn:CBS:TV Classics:Twin Peaks:+3" > C:\xampplite\htdocs\twinpeaks.xml
Watching the first episode right now, my wife has never seen it before.
__________________
SageTV V7 (WHS), Diamond UI
Server: WHS with Xeon X3350, 4GB ECC, ASUS P5BV-C/4L, recording into a 6.6TB Drive pool
Tuners: 4 (2x HDHR)
Clients: 2x HD300, 1x HD200 Extenders, 1x Placeshifter
2x Roku XD
  #51  
Old 09-25-2009, 09:35 PM
Slipshod's Avatar
Slipshod Slipshod is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 474
Quote:
Originally Posted by HuMan321 View Post
Added custom online links and now have my hulu queue showing up in online videos. Next problem is that it says the video is not found on the server. I seem to remember reading about this and still wonder if I need to update my extenders from 20090702 0???
No need to update firmware.

I had similar problems when I was trying to get playon installed on my WHS server, so I scrapped it and installed it on my wife's PC instead. Worked much better, and I'll try to figure out the WHS issues later...
__________________
SageTV V7 (WHS), Diamond UI
Server: WHS with Xeon X3350, 4GB ECC, ASUS P5BV-C/4L, recording into a 6.6TB Drive pool
Tuners: 4 (2x HDHR)
Clients: 2x HD300, 1x HD200 Extenders, 1x Placeshifter
2x Roku XD
  #52  
Old 09-25-2009, 10:26 PM
simonen simonen is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Carlsbad, CA
Posts: 384
Quote:
Originally Posted by HuMan321 View Post
OK
Added custom online links and now have my hulu queue showing up in online videos. Next problem is that it says the video is not found on the server. I seem to remember reading about this and still wonder if I need to update my extenders from 20090702 0???
I think it is important to remember that the links to the videos change. This is PlayOn doing this. I don't know why for certain, but I can only assume they are trying to make it difficult for people to copy videos/movies as it would violate terms of service. We, of course, are not doing this.

It is necessary to run the run.bat file every time you reboot, because those links will definitely change. You may need to every run it more than once a day, even if you do not reboot. That is why I suggest setting up the task manager to do this for you several times a day.

If the sage server is playing the video and the extender is not, this is likely due to the vbscript not being edited correctly to your servers ip address or correct path to the htdocs folder. The purpose of this script is to change the ip address from 'localhost' (127.0.0.1) to your server's IP in case the upnp2podcast.exe app is not doing that, which is the case with windows 7.
  #53  
Old 09-25-2009, 11:17 PM
HuMan321's Avatar
HuMan321 HuMan321 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Idaho
Posts: 365
Thanks for the input.

My setup is this:

Sage server on a WHS quad core machine.

playon and your files installed on another PC (wifes) which is an I7 running Windows 7 64 Ultimate.

I changed the IP in the two vbs files to my WHS Sage Server
(192.168.123.37) I left the localhost info in the file and edited the other IP.

I added the custom online links from the sticky and the hulu queue shows up in online videos. When I select a video it says the video cannot be found on the server. I saw the posts about re-running the batch file which I did and I still get the same. I updated the firmware on my extender to the latest also.

I should point out that I have not been able to actually test from my WHS server as it does not play video or have media player or anything installed.

Other custom video links play ok so I am not sure why the hulu queue does not...
Still looking for a solution.
  #54  
Old 09-26-2009, 12:46 AM
evilpenguin's Avatar
evilpenguin evilpenguin is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,696
A few things random things I know right now:

a) The video links change fairly often, I think they use the current time as a seed to randomize the name. Once its given you a link, its only good for a small period of time to access it before the link goes bad.

If you're getting "video not found on server error" check the following things
  • Check the PlayOn config and it should help you with setting your firewall
  • Make sure you've got PlayOn updated to the lastest version.
  • Open up the .xml files and verify that the links are real IP address's and not 127.0.1.1 or localhost
  • Try opening the link in a browser. If it asks you if you want to download the video then the link should be good, but if it gives you a 404 your link went stale and you need to re-run the batch file.

B) I've been emailing Sage about this and they mentioned that progressive downloading a podcast of an MPEG-2 isn't really a use case they anticipated so they aren't surprised that the timebar is acting strange. It a little annoying but it certainly works good enough for everyday use. Once we iron out all of our other problems I'll put together a bug report for them.
  #55  
Old 09-26-2009, 06:18 AM
matt91's Avatar
matt91 matt91 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 1,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by evilpenguin View Post
Try opening the link in a browser. If it asks you if you want to download the video then the link should be good, but if it gives you a 404 your link went stale and you need to re-run the batch file.
So I have this all set up, but am getting stuck here.

I get this from my huluqueue.xml file:
Code:
<item> 
      <title>Arrested Development: Pilot</title> 
      <description>Season 01 Episode 001 - </description> 
      <pubDate>2003-11-02T00:00:00</pubDate> 
      <itunes:subtitle>Season 01 Episode 001 - </itunes:subtitle>
      <itunes:duration>0:21:46</itunes:duration>
      <enclosure url="http://192.168.1.100:63478/hulu-7081e733-0f8a-495d-a798-59a5e964fd8b/1-hulu-7081e733-0f8a-495d-a798-59a5e964fd8b.mpg" length="998744000" type="video/mpeg2" /> 
    </item>
even if I cut and paste this url into a browser immediately after running the batch file, I'm getting 404's.
Code:
404 Not Found
MediaMallServer/2.59.3555.48
I don't have a firewall turned on at the server.

Any thoughts?
__________________
Server: Ubuntu 16.04 running Sage for Linux v9
  #56  
Old 09-26-2009, 08:13 AM
Thomas Wischgol's Avatar
Thomas Wischgol Thomas Wischgol is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by matt91 View Post
So I have this all set up, but am getting stuck here.

I get this from my huluqueue.xml file:
Code:
<item> 
      <title>Arrested Development: Pilot</title> 
      <description>Season 01 Episode 001 - </description> 
      <pubDate>2003-11-02T00:00:00</pubDate> 
      <itunes:subtitle>Season 01 Episode 001 - </itunes:subtitle>
      <itunes:duration>0:21:46</itunes:duration>
      <enclosure url="http://192.168.1.100:63478/hulu-7081e733-0f8a-495d-a798-59a5e964fd8b/1-hulu-7081e733-0f8a-495d-a798-59a5e964fd8b.mpg" length="998744000" type="video/mpeg2" /> 
    </item>
even if I cut and paste this url into a browser immediately after running the batch file, I'm getting 404's.
Code:
404 Not Found
MediaMallServer/2.59.3555.48
I don't have a firewall turned on at the server.

Any thoughts?
Did you try and restart the playon server? Of course, you need to regenerate the xml files after that. I had an error message about Adobe flash failing somewhere on the computer where the playon server was running on, which seemed to have kept it from serving the files that resulted in the error you are getting.

Thomas
  #57  
Old 09-26-2009, 08:17 AM
JetreL's Avatar
JetreL JetreL is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 388
It works, it works, it really really works! It took me a while to set up the RSS feed for online videos but it seems to work pretty good. I created a scheduled task to rebuild the RSS feed every hour and have tested it on the SageTV Placeshifter client and it works great! Can't wait to show the WAF. Don't know if she will be as impressed as I am but great work!
  #58  
Old 09-26-2009, 08:21 AM
JetreL's Avatar
JetreL JetreL is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 388
Quote:
Originally Posted by matt91 View Post
So I have this all set up, but am getting stuck here.

I get this from my huluqueue.xml file:
Code:
<item> 
      <title>Arrested Development: Pilot</title> 
      <description>Season 01 Episode 001 - </description> 
      <pubDate>2003-11-02T00:00:00</pubDate> 
      <itunes:subtitle>Season 01 Episode 001 - </itunes:subtitle>
      <itunes:duration>0:21:46</itunes:duration>
      <enclosure url="http://192.168.1.100:63478/hulu-7081e733-0f8a-495d-a798-59a5e964fd8b/1-hulu-7081e733-0f8a-495d-a798-59a5e964fd8b.mpg" length="998744000" type="video/mpeg2" /> 
    </item>
even if I cut and paste this url into a browser immediately after running the batch file, I'm getting 404's.
Code:
404 Not Found
MediaMallServer/2.59.3555.48
I don't have a firewall turned on at the server.

Any thoughts?
Have you went to and logged into Hulu's website from your browser on the computer that Playon is running. I read somewhere that that is a requirement to pulling videos from Hulu's site with Playon? worth a try Maybe reinstall flash if that doesn't work?
  #59  
Old 09-26-2009, 08:31 AM
Thomas Wischgol's Avatar
Thomas Wischgol Thomas Wischgol is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetreL View Post
Have you went to and logged into Hulu's website from your browser on the computer that Playon is running. I read somewhere that that is a requirement to pulling videos from Hulu's site with Playon? worth a try Maybe reinstall flash if that doesn't work?
As far as I remember from having to do this months ago, they just want you to accept their new terms. So you should be able to just log in using your Hulu account credentials and you should be fine.

Thomas
  #60  
Old 09-26-2009, 08:49 AM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
I'm not sure but the no sound thing with Netflix may be due to not having an interactive user logged into the computer. I can't be certain though because the video was choppy but there was crackling audio playing between chops. When I'm logged off my SageTV server I get smooth video but no audio.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RSS FEed Lost85 SageMC Custom Interface 1 07-18-2009 01:18 AM
Looking for News and Sports feed for RSS ticker SageGk SageMC Custom Interface 1 04-06-2008 07:56 AM
Web Plugin RSS feed question matt91 SageTV Customizations 1 07-28-2006 11:24 AM
RSS feed for the forums dflachbart General Discussion 4 03-31-2006 11:39 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.