SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Old 09-02-2010, 04:37 AM
Sage Advanced User

U-verse do or don't

I have been using sagetv since 2004, I want more HD content than the current OTA that I am limited to. The hauppauge HD PVR just doesn't appear to be a stable HD recording solution.

Sagetv pros

Flexibilty with plugins
commercial skipping
netflix
hulu
expandable storage/unlimited recording
squeezeplayer
etc.

Cons

No good HD PVR Solution

U-verse pros
whole house dvr
HD- though questionable

Cons
See above sagetv pros can't do with u-verse

These are my opinions. I need some good testimonials on the HD PVR to make the leap to Directv HD. Limited to Directv and U-verse as providers.
Serv:ECS H61H2-T1 ITX I7 3770S CPU@3.1GHZ 8G Ram WIN1064 HDPVR, HD Homerun|network encoder Unraid Server:B75MU3B I5-3550 CPU@3.30GHz 9TB 16G Ram|Network HDPVR encoder:Win10 VM 8G Ram with Processor passthrough. Directv Http tuning to Genie, exemultitunplugin to Genie client. Http scheduled task bat file to defeat screensaver on Genie. Usb uirt scheduled task bat file to defeat screensaver on Genie client. Clients Android TV, Samsung TAB A
Old 09-02-2010, 06:01 AM
Sage Aficionado

Just my thoughts:

1. I would be surprised if the HD is truely HD. It may have HD resolution and or may fill up your screen but I doubt it will have the PQ of the higher bit rates of OTA HD.
2. I personally have had nothing but problems with VoIP phone calls and therefore I suspect there will be frequent issues with streaming video.
3. Can multiple live HD shows be watched simultaneously?
4. What about being able to view your DVD/BD library? Personal family video?
5. Will the commercial skip work like it does in STV or will you have to FF through all commercials?