SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Old 12-06-2010, 08:48 PM
Sage User

Stereo Audio Only?

I am new to SageTV (version 7) and to this forum (hello!), and I really could use some help.

I have the software running on a Windows 7 64-bit machine with an ATI 4600 Series video card. It is working well, for the most part, but I noticed that I never get anything other than stereo PCM sound from the TV shows that I record. I'm using the Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 to record terrestrial ATSC broadcasts. I just connected the HDMI output of the video card to my AV receiver.

The only thing that I saw in setup that seemed to be related was "Audio Renderer". Here are the choices that are shown:

Remote Audio
CyberLink Audio Renderer (PDVD7.x)
Default DirectSound Device
Default WaveOutput Device
DirectSound: Remote Audio

It is currently configured for "Default".

The Asus motherboard has onboard Realtek HD Audio, but I have no idea how that relates to SageTV.

Can any of you guys help me get 5.1 audio?

Thanks,
-Mark
Old 12-11-2010, 10:50 PM
Sage Advanced User

Do you get any audio out of the HDMI cable?

Do you get anything other than stereo from other components that hook into your receiver?