SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Old 06-22-2004, 04:59 PM
Sage User

Memory leak in Sage 2

I'm not a programmer or harware guy, but I think I have good evidence for a memory leak in Sage 2.

Using a hauppauge 350, whenever I watch live TV I get a hard system freeze after 20 min to 2 h or so.

I have norton system doctor installed, and that reports physical memory free second-by-second. When Sage is loaded, it's stable, no decrease unless I open another program. When I start watching live TV, free physical memory starts decreasing at about 1-2 MB / second. Some variable time after it hits zero, it'll freeze.

If I run something like memory cleaner (memclnr.exe) constantly, I can rescue some memory and keep the whole system alive indefinitely.

So, programmers: doesn't that sound like a memory leak? Or am I wrong?

I've looked through the support discussion groups for similar issues, and I don't think this is due to the video directory problem, b/c everything is on the same drive in the default directory. I'm not using a server-client setup. And I already installed the updated irremote.dll that that guy with the sendmessage utility posted.

I sent an email to Frey tech support about this, too, but what do you all think? Anyone with a similar lock up that isn't due to the irremote problem or the directory problem?

win XP pro
AMD 950 MHz on Aopen board
Radeon 7000 (?) vid card
hauppauge 350 tuner
girder 3.2.9
sage 2.0
512 MB RAM
45 GB Deskstar
Old 06-22-2004, 05:01 PM