SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Github Development
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Github Development Discussion related to SageTV Open Source Development. Use this forum for development topics about the Open Source versions of SageTV, hosted on Github.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-19-2017, 08:46 AM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Strathmore, AB
Posts: 2,727
Getting a file on the server from a windows client

I seem to recall that something changed which allows Comskip to read files on the server better from a client (windows only perhaps). I have an Import issue in gemstone that used to work in v7 so something around this changed.

Can someone point me in the right direction of how I should be getting a file that is on the server from a windows client?

k
__________________
If you wish to see what I am up to and support my efforts visit my Patreon page
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-19-2017, 02:41 PM
JREkiwi's Avatar
JREkiwi JREkiwi is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 2,132
Comskip got changed to use IsFilePath() and GetFileAsString()

John
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-20-2017, 10:21 AM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Strathmore, AB
Posts: 2,727
I was already using GetFileAsString but I added IsFilePath which does return true.

Further digging FINALLY found the issue....my remote file is too large! java.io WriteUTF has a limit of 65535 bytes and my file was slightly larger so it fails.

This looks like a major rewrite to work around that so I will look at splitting the export/import files (part1, part2, etc.) so they stay smaller than the max unless someone has a better solution for me.

k
__________________
If you wish to see what I am up to and support my efforts visit my Patreon page
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-22-2017, 10:47 AM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,349
I had to do various things in SageTV to work around that stupid writeUTF limitation...you'll find a few implementations of writeUTF (and readUTF) inside of SageTV that all behave the same way where it'll use an extended length field for UTF strings to work around that issue.
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-22-2017, 04:48 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
I think any 'workaroud/fix' should probably be done in the sage api level instead. Is there a way to use a different process for grabbing large files? I mean, a String should have no problem holding more than 64Kb, we just need to get it there.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-22-2017, 05:56 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Strathmore, AB
Posts: 2,727
Quote:
Originally Posted by Narflex View Post
I had to do various things in SageTV to work around that stupid writeUTF limitation...you'll find a few implementations of writeUTF (and readUTF) inside of SageTV that all behave the same way where it'll use an extended length field for UTF strings to work around that issue.
I will search and see how that's done and see if we could adjust or add an api to use the workaround you used elsewhere

thanks
__________________
If you wish to see what I am up to and support my efforts visit my Patreon page
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-22-2017, 08:25 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,491
@jusjoken - If you are referring to the Import settings option on Gemstone - on SageTV client I was never able to successfully import settings from a server file under V7, but that may have been due to the 64k issue. I remember discussing this with you on the forums.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-23-2017, 04:48 AM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Strathmore, AB
Posts: 2,727
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
@jusjoken - If you are referring to the Import settings option on Gemstone - on SageTV client I was never able to successfully import settings from a server file under V7, but that may have been due to the 64k issue. I remember discussing this with you on the forums.
Yes that's this issue and is due to file size. Gemstone 1.4 will catch this and warn the user. You likely can resolve it yourself by exporting menus separate from the other settings. G2 will change the menu file anyway but it may likely be larger so i still want to resolve this.

Jeff has pointed me in the right direction and it looks doable.

k
__________________
If you wish to see what I am up to and support my efforts visit my Patreon page
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-23-2017, 06:44 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,491
I just copied the settings file from the server to the client and then Imported from a local file.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-23-2017, 10:18 AM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Strathmore, AB
Posts: 2,727
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
I just copied the settings file from the server to the client and then Imported from a local file.
But you shouldn't have to
__________________
If you wish to see what I am up to and support my efforts visit my Patreon page
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-23-2017, 11:42 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,491
Very true but it wasn't a big deal. I think we discussed this before but it would be nice to have a setting to allow you to use one Gemstone settings file that is a master and that is used by all miniclients and clients. Whenever the (mini)client starts up it could apply this file. When you make a change to your menus, filters or whatever it can be a pain to have to go to all (mini)clients to update.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-23-2017, 03:07 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Strathmore, AB
Posts: 2,727
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Very true but it wasn't a big deal. I think we discussed this before but it would be nice to have a setting to allow you to use one Gemstone settings file that is a master and that is used by all miniclients and clients. Whenever the (mini)client starts up it could apply this file. When you make a change to your menus, filters or whatever it can be a pain to have to go to all (mini)clients to update.
Agreed...menus already can be done this way by pointing to a shared menu file but all this will change in G2.

k
__________________
If you wish to see what I am up to and support my efforts visit my Patreon page
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
setting up windows file server problem - hd300 cat6man SageTV Media Extender 1 10-12-2010 08:21 PM
PlaybackException - Linux Server, Windows Client talvey SageTV Linux 7 03-14-2009 10:07 AM
Mac client on Windows server aadon SageTV Software 3 09-26-2008 07:35 AM
Linux Server Windows Client DVD Playback harrijay SageTV Linux 2 05-11-2007 08:49 AM
V5 Linux as a Client to Windows Server? plawlor SageTV Linux 6 05-24-2006 05:30 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.