SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Old 08-05-2020, 08:15 PM
Sage Aficionado

Video Upscaling?

So, I'm fairly new to the 4K TV experience and i'm wondering if anyone out there is currently doing any form of software based upscaling on their video playback to help improve the quality of lower resolution video files?

Even my TV signal from my Shaw STB is only recorded at 1080i (limitations of the HDPVR) and I would love to do something to enhance the picture quality to take full advantage of my 4K TV.

I run the desktop at 4K, so I imagine something needs to be configured in the LAV decoders or additional software may be required (if its even possible at all?).

I remember FFDShow had a bunch of on-the-fly video processing options that could be applied to enhance video quality, so I could switch back to that instead of LAV.

Just wondering what everyone else is doing!

Any input is appreciated!
Old 08-07-2020, 05:02 AM
Sage Aficionado

The best thing you can do is sit further back from the screen. You can't add data that isn't there. If you have a really large screen, there's a significant difference between 1080i and 4K. You need at least a 43" screen to see any difference at all.
ASRock B450M Pro4 AM4 MB, Ryzen 5 2600 3.4ghz, Crucial Ballistix Gaming 32GB (2 x 16GB) DDR4-3200, EVGA GT 1030SC, WD Black NVMe SSD 250GB, 1x WD120EFAX 12TB, 1x WD80EFAX 8TB, 1x WDBH2D0040HNC 4TB, USB-UIRT, Colossus 2, WinTV-DualHD USB, Windows 11 64bit
Old 08-07-2020, 08:51 AM
Sage Aficionado

Quote:
Originally Posted by Malfunction View Post
You can't add data that isn't there.